Crustless Zucchini Mushroom Feta Quiche

 photo Blog 187.jpg

Jorge Cruise’s The 100 plan is a delicious and easy program for those of us who prefer a low-carb lifestyle. Most mornings, I eat scrambled eggs, with the occasional almond pancakes or muffins, depending on how much time I can spare before Andrew and I run out of the door to school and work. But on the weekend, I try to make something special, and this morning I decided upon a quiche.

 photo Blog 186.jpg

I’m a member of an organic co-op, and this week I ordered zucchini, mushrooms, cherry tomatoes, and eggplant. All gorgeous and so delicious! When I decided to make a quiche, I immediately thought about the zucchini and mushrooms. Full-flavored from caramelized mushrooms, tangy feta and Kalamata olives, along with the lovely fluffiness from the whipping cream – my quiche was a perfect, 0 sugar calorie breakfast.

 photo Blog 184.jpg

Crustless Zucchini Mushroom Feta Quiche
2 zucchini, thinly sliced
1 cup sliced mushrooms
1 medium onion, diced
3 garlic cloves, minced
4 oz feta cheese, crumbled
8 Kalamata olives, halved
4 large eggs
1 cup whipping cream
1/4 cup grated Parmesan cheese
1/2 teaspoon dried Italian seasoning
1/4 cup grated colby-jack cheese (optional)
Pinch, or more, cayenne pepper (optional)
4 tablespoons unsalted butter

Preheat oven to 375 degrees
Spray a pie dish or 8×8 casserole with non-stick spray; set aside
Melt butter in skillet over medium-high heat
Add zucchini, mushrooms, diced onion, and garlic
While vegetables cook, beat together eggs, whipping cream, Parmesan cheese, dried Italian seasoning, and cayenne, if using; set mixture aside
Once veg mixture begins to caramelize, remove from heat and spoon into greased dish
Distribute feta cheese and sliced Kalamata olives over mixture
Pour egg mixture over mushroom mixture and sprinkle on grated colby-jack cheese, if using
Bake at 375 degrees for 35-45 minutes, covering with foil if cheese starts to over-brown
Allow quiche to rest for 10 minutes before serving

Serves 8

5 thoughts on “Crustless Zucchini Mushroom Feta Quiche

  1. I am working on this right now. I can’t wait to try it. But I just want to mention that you don’t tell us what to do with the zucchini. I improvised and sautéed them in some butter then layered it on top of the of the feta and olives. lol thank you for sharing this, it’s a great one for me since I am in the process of losing weight. On low carbs high protein, I am 8 lbs from 100 lbs lost forever.

Leave a Reply

