Indian-Spiced Beef aka Kheema Bhurjee

 photo 9eb26-kheemabhurjee090.jpg

A few years ago, my library began a cooking demonstration program; the director, me, and other staff members acted as cooks/presenters/servers, etc. Each monthly session would last about 90 minutes, with each of us presenting 1-3 recipes. We always had a theme. I actually had this “idea” to use Shakespeare’s plays as theme titles, ie, All’s Well that Rises Well (yeast breads), Julius Cheeser (homemade cheese), Much Ado about Munchies (appetizers), and Taming of the Stew (one-pot entrees). Snorting with laughter or rolling your eyes in derision? Either is an acceptable reaction. And, yes, this confirms my status as nerd-girl.

 photo 38f7b-kheemabhurjee105.jpg

One year we focused on Middle Eastern, Indian, and here’s a stretch from a library located in south Louisiana, Cajun classics. The Cajun classics presentation was really great, though, as we brought in Marcelle Bienvenu, a Louisiana food writer & author.

 photo c09d9-kheemabhurjee099.jpg

At the time, my exposure to Indian food was limited, so I did a tremendous amount of research looking for recipes that would appeal not only to our audience, but to me, as well. When I saw the picture of Kheema Bhurjee, I thought it looked delicious. I had a moment of hesitation, however, as it contained ground lamb, and I’m just not a big fan. I made the decision to substitute ground beef, though, and it was delicious. Throughout the past 8 years, I’ve tweaked this recipe every time I’ve made it, the main reason is that I never can put my hands on the original recipe when I decide to make it, so I improvise. Of course, through the magic of this blog, this version will always be available.

Indian-Spiced Beef aka Kheema Bhurjee
3 tablespoons vegetable oil
2 lbs lean ground beef
2 large onions, diced
6 cloves garlic, chopped
1 jalapeno, seeded and chopped
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon ground cardamom
1 teaspoon black pepper
½ teaspoon cinnamon
¼ teaspoon nutmeg
¼ teaspoon ground ginger
28 oz can diced tomatoes
1 cup frozen green peas
Juice of 1 lime
Salt to taste
Hot cooked basmati rice or cauliflower rice for low carb
Optional: Sliced jalapenos, chopped cilantro, and yogurt, for garnish

• Heat the oil in a large skillet.
• Add the onions, garlic, and jalapeno – cook over medium heat for 8-10 minutes
• Add the ground beef and cook through
• Drain off extra grease
• Add all spices to ground beef and cook for 10 minutes, stirring often
• Add tomatoes, cover, and cook on low until tomatoes have softened and most of the liquid has evaporated, about 20 minutes.
• Add peas and continue to cook on low until heated through, about 5-10 minutes.
• Remove from heat, stir in lime juice, and add salt according to taste.
• Serve over rice, cauliflower rice, or with naan.
• Garnish with yogurt, cilantro, and extra sliced jalapenos, if desired.
Enjoy!

Print

Linked to Sunday, Monday, Tuesday, and Wednesday parties.

4 thoughts on “Indian-Spiced Beef aka Kheema Bhurjee

  1. Congratulations! You’ve been featured on Wicked Awesome Wednesday! Please stop by the website and pick up your “I’ve Been Featured!” button! This recipe is a MUST TRY! Thank you for taking the time to share on Handyman, Crafty Woman!

Leave a Reply

