Slow-cooker Skirt Steak Tacos

 photo IMG_7777.jpg

Tacos are one of my favorite things, with grilled fish being my favorite filling and beef coming in at second place. Since a fish taco will never cross the husband’s lips, I usually only make those on the weekend when I’ve time to make something else for him. Beef tacos, however, are one of the husband’s favorite things, and being the accommodating wife that I am, I make them often, especially after discovering this version.

 photo IMG_7771.jpg

Both skirt and flank steak work equally well; the original recipe uses boneless short ribs, which are decadently delicious. Skirt and flank steak do require the extra bit of olive oil, although it’s unnecessary if you use the short ribs. The husband eats tacos with shredded lettuce and cheese; I love cilantro, jalapeno, and white onion, with a squeeze of lime. The boy eats a taco shell with cheese as a filling. If I have avocados in the house, I’ll mix up some guacamole as the pièce de résistance topping.

The best part, of course, is all of the deliciousness occurs in the slow-cooker!

Slow Cooker Skirt Steak Tacos
Ingredients:
2 lbs skirt steak
3 cloves garlic, minced
1.5 teaspoons cumin powder
2 teaspoons ancho chili powder (regular is fine, too)
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon black pepper
1/2 teaspoon granulated onion

In the slow cooker:
1 large onion, sliced
3 tablespoons olive oil

For assembly:
Corn tortillas (I prefer crunchy, heated in the oven)

Toppings:
Guacamole, sliced jalapeno, diced onion, cilantro leaves, shredded lettuce, shredded cheese, and lime wedges

8-hours or the night before:
Combine the minced garlic and all of the seasonings in a gallon-size bag; add the skirt steak and shake to combine. Refrigerate at least 8 hours, preferably overnight.

In the slow-cooker:
Place sliced onion in the bottom of the slow-cooker.
Lay skirt steak on top of onion.
Drizzle on the 3 tablespoons of olive oil and add the 1/2 cup of water.
Cook on low for 8 hours.
Remove steak, shred, and assemble tacos.
Enjoy!
Print

Shared with Tuesday and Wednesday linky parties.
Recipe adapted from Black Girl Chefs Whites

11 thoughts on “Slow-cooker Skirt Steak Tacos

  1. I marinated my skirt steak and was concerned about tenderness Since it was a larger cut. I also wanted to use my crockpot since mother nature doesn’t look like she will let me grill later. Thank you for the idea of using my crockpot. I know the steak will be melt in your mouth tender

  2. Pingback: Best Crock Pot Recipes on the Net (March 2013 Edition) | The Food Explorer

  3. Pingback: Lovely Ladies Linky No. 28 - This Silly Girl's Life

  4. Pingback: Simply Fresh Guacamole | Louanne's Kitchen

  5. Your Skirt Steak Tacos look so delicious, Louanne, and I love that they are made in the slow cooker. The marinade sounds fantastic too. I’ve pinned this recipe to my Crockpot and Slow Cooker recipes board. Thank you for sharing it with the Hearth and Soul hop.

Leave a Reply

