Faux Fries

 photo IMG_7753.jpg

So, these look like french fries, yes?  I know!  But, they are celeriac aka celery root!  And, guess what?  They are SO GOOD!  I felt like I was indulging in a big no-no!  The best thing?  No blood sugar spike – none!

 photo IMG_7754.jpg

I had seen pics of these around Pinterest forever, and I kept telling myself that I needed to give them a try.  I suppose the hesitancy came from all of the other times I’ve tried faux fries – butternut squash, rutabagas, even radishes – none of them were appealing to me.  Actually, I like all three, but not as faux fries.  Putting aside my hesitancy, I went ahead with my experiment, especially since my local grocery actually had them in the produce section, so I couldn’t use unavailability as an excuse.

 photo IMG_7752.jpg

My celeriac weighed in a 1.5 pounds.  Weird-looking little thing, too.  Rather like an alien from Dr. Who.  Using a knife, I sliced off the weird rooty end, giving me a level surface, then I used my vegetable peeler to remove the outer skin.  FYI, a bit frustrating, so you may want to use a paring knife.  Once peeled, I sliced into french fry shapes.  I briefly thought about deep-frying, but who was I kidding?  I never deep-fry, so I tossed the pieces with a bit of olive oil, sprinkled on a bit of salt, divided the batch between two parchment-lined pans, and tossed them into a 425 degree oven.  Forty-five minutes later, I had a plate of deliciousness that surpassed all expectations! I love them!

 photo IMG_7750.jpg

So, do they taste like potatoes?  Sort of.
Do they taste like celery?  Nope.
Crispy? Eh, the really brown pieces were somewhat crisp.
Will you make them again? Definitely – I bought another one this morning!

Now, I love potatoes, but potatoes and I are not soulmates. I try to limit my intake due to my diabetes, and if you can eat them without any issues, I envy you, my friend. I do have some delicious baked fry recipes here and here.

 photo IMG_7751.jpg

Celeriac Baked Fries
1 celeriac aka celery root, about 1-2 lbs
2-3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1/4 teaspoon salt, or to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.
Peel and slice celeriac as described in post.
Toss with oil and salt.
Evenly distribute pieces onto parchment-lined baking sheets – don’t crowd the pieces.
Bake for 40-45 minutes, giving the pieces a stir every 15 minutes or so.
Serve immediately.
Enjoy!

Print

Shared with Tuesday, Wednesday, and Thursday linky parties.

5 thoughts on “Faux Fries

  1. Hi Louanne,
    What a great idea, Your Celeriac Fry’s look awesome! Thanks so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday, it is so nice to have you with us today. Have a great weekend and come back soon!
    Miz Helen

  2. Those look almost like real fries! I never had celeriac before but now I have an excuse to buy one! They look delicious.

  3. I’m so glad you shared this recipe, Louanne! I’m always getting celeriac in my organic vegetable box and it intimidates me – but no more! I’m looking forward to trying your baked fries. They look delicious 🙂

Leave a Reply

