Chocolate Brownie Mug Cake

 photo IMG_7729.jpgI’ve no doubt you’ve seen these everywhere. So have I, especially on Pinterest; there’s even a cookbook dedicated to mug cakes. But, it wasn’t until recently that I actually made one. Is it just me, but do you think the cakes taste overwhelmingly eggy? Could be me – I’m weird about certain tastes. Now, I have nothing against eggs. I eat eggs. I like eggs. But, I don’t like eggy-flavored chocolate cake. Chocolate eggs, as in Easter chocolate eggs – yes! But not cake. Anyway, I decided to make the recipe sans egg. Not a big deal, I thought, as some of the traditional recipes have no egg, but I was making a GF, low-carb mug cake. No egg didn’t work. So, I tried a flax egg…um, NO..blech, actually. Then, for my next trick, a chia egg. A resounding YES! No weird taste, the cake held together, and better still, the chia seeds provide a tiny crunch, like itty-bitty bits of nuts. A winner!
 photo IMG_7732.jpg
I have added a square of 85% chocolate on top before microwaving, which is quite decadent and perfect for when you need even bigger chocolate flavor. Personally, I prefer a dollop of whipped cream.
 photo IMG_7733.jpg
The original recipe can be found here. It’s a good, solid recipe. Before running out and buying chia seeds, use the recipe as written. However, if you have chia seeds, and you’re sensitive to the taste of egg (some people aren’t), then try my version. Serve with the whipped cream. And, a strawberry on top.
P.S. If you have no dietary restrictions, try the traditional recipe at the end of this post.
 photo IMG_7730.jpg
Chocolate Brownie Mug Cake – GF and Low-carb
Wet ingredients
2 tablespoons butter or coconut oil, melted (Plus extra for greasing mugs)
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 large egg or 1 chia egg (1 tablespoon chia seeds mixed with 3 tablespoons tap water)

Dry ingredients
3 tablespoons almond flour
2 tablespoons sweetener of choice (Swerve is my fave)
1 tablespoon cocoa powder
1 teaspoon coconut flour
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
Pinch of salt (1/8 teaspoon or so)

Using butter or coconut oil, grease 2 microwave-safe cups; set aside.
Mix chia seeds and tap water together; allow to gel for 3 minutes
Combine chia egg, melted butter, and vanilla extract.
Using an immersion blender, blend together for about 30 seconds.
Add in dry ingredients, and mix again using the immersion blender until combined.
Divide mixture into the 2 greased cups.
Microwave each mug, separately, for 45 – 60 seconds (45 seconds makes a fudgier cake).
Serve with a dollop of whipped cream and garnish with a strawberry, if desired.

Whipped Cream (4 servings)
1/2 cup heavy whipping cream
1 tablespoon Swerve
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
Whip until soft peaks form and use immediately.

 photo IMG_7735.jpg

Deep Dark Chocolate Mug Cake from Mug Cakes
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1/4 cup semi-sweet or bittersweet chocolate chips
3 1/2 tablespoons buttermilk
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup sugar
2 tablespoons cocoa powder
1 large egg
2 tablespoons self-rising flour
Pinch of kosher salt

Combine butter and chocolate chips in a microwave-safe mug; microwave until melted, about 30-60 seconds.
Stir in sugar, vanilla, buttermilk, and cocoa; mix well.
Stir in egg.
Add in flour and salt, mix well.
Divide batter between 2 greased mugs.
Microwave, separately, for 1 1/2 to 2 1/2 minutes, or until risen and firm.

Shared with Sunday, Monday, and Tuesday Linky Parties

8 thoughts on “Chocolate Brownie Mug Cake

  1. I was copying this gf receipe for a blind friend . It says to put brewed coffee in the bowl. No
    other place do I see mention of coffee.

  2. I’ve heard of mug cakes but never had one before. Thanks for sharing at Sweet and Savoury Sundays, I’d love you to stop by this weekend and link up!

Leave a Reply

