Spicy Eggplant

 photo IMG_7722.jpg One of my favorite vegetables is eggplant. I have nine eggplant recipes on here! Today’s post brings the count to 10. So, yeah, a bit of an eggplant obsession. I picked up a few gorgeous eggplants over the weekend, with no real plan on how to prepare them. Since I was off on President’s Day, I sliced 2 and grilled them alongside some chicken breasts. With just a sprinkle of salt and a brush of olive oil, they were perfect. I found a small container of marinara in the freezer, so Tuesday I threw together an impromptu eggplant lasagna. What to do with the final eggplant? Well, clumsiness in the pantry answered that question. I knocked over my bottle of garam masala, and I remembered pinning an eggplant recipe. My tweaks make it a bit quicker. I think the coconut oil is responsible for the incredible silkiness of the eggplant. The vinegar adds the slightest bit of tart, and the jalapeno contributes the spicy undertone. The jalapeno is optional, so leave it out for less heat, and if you want more heat, add some crushed red pepper to the dish. I ate it as a side with my grilled chicken. Hope you like it!
 photo IMG_7725.jpg

Spicy Eggplant
2 teaspoons curry powder
1 1/2 teaspoons garam masala
3/4 cup water
1 tablespoon honey (I used sugar-free honey; sugar is fine, too)
1 tablespoon vinegar
1 medium eggplant, cubed (Peel if you like, but I didn’t)
1/2 medium onion, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 jalapeno, diced (I didn’t seed, but for less heat, definitely remove seeds, or omit jalapeno completely)
1 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons coconut oil, or neutral oil of choice
Cilantro
Yogurt, optional

In a measuring cup, combine water, vinegar, and honey (or sweetener of choice) and set aside.
Heat coconut oil in skillet, add curry powder and garam masala. Cook for about 1 minute, stirring constantly.
Add eggplant, onion, garlic, and jalapeno, stir to coat with spices.
Cook for 5 minutes.
Add water mixture, cover skillet, bring to a boil, then reduce heat to a simmer; simmer mixture for 10 minutes.
Uncover skillet, increase heat to medium-high, and cook eggplant mixture, without stirring, until liquid is almost evaporated, about 15 minutes; take care not to burn the eggplant, although you do want a bit of a char.
Remove from heat, return cover, and allow to rest for 5 minutes.
Serve with cilantro and yogurt, if desired.

Print

My other eggplant recipes

Linked to the following Thursday and Friday parties.

One thought on “Spicy Eggplant

Leave a Reply

