Easy Slow-cooker Pot Roast

 photo IMG_7708.jpg
It’s been a crazy week at work, and the stress followed me home! So while I still cooked, my preoccupied thoughts prevented me from focusing on picture-taking or writing. Enough! Today’s roast is a scaled down version of another roast on this site. I’m a proponent of fresh flavors, really, I am, but there are days when granulated/dried seasonings are a must!

 photo IMG_7707.jpg

The husband loved the roast, particularly served as a roast beef poboy. I’m watching the carbs, so I ate the roast alongside mashed cauliflower. The garlic and onion powder, along with the Cajun seasoning, dried thyme, and bay leaf, come together to form a highly flavorful gravy, or more accurately, au jus, as I chose not to thicken it, although you most certainly could do so. Admittedly, I had concerns about blandness due to the lack of fresh onions and garlic, but happily, I found the lack of actual onion and garlic truly made no difference in the flavor. I think the long simmer in the slow-cooker is mostly responsible for the delicious flavor and fall-aprt-tenderness 🙂

 photo IMG_7705.jpg
 photo IMG_7710.jpg
So, if you’re in a rush, or out of onions and garlic, give my version a whirl!

Easy Slow-cooker Roast
3-4 lb chuck roast
1 teaspoon salt
1/4-1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper
3/4 cup unsalted beef stock (I use Kitchen Basics)
1/4 cup brewed coffee
1 teaspoon garlic powder
1 teaspoon onion powder
1-2 teaspoons salt-free seasoning (My favorites are this one and this one)
1/2 teaspoon ground thyme
1 bay leaf
Oil, for browning

Season roast with the salt and cayenne pepper; set aside.
Add beef broth, brewed coffee, garlic powder, onion powder, Cajun seasoning, ground thyme and bay leaf to slow-cooker; whisk to combine.
Heat oil in skillet (I used about 1 tablespoon coconut oil)
Add roast to skillet and brown on both sides, then transfer to slow-cooker.
Cook on low for 8-10 hours.

Print


Linked to the following:
Real Food Fridays and Creations by Kara

Leave a Reply

