Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits – Gluten-Free and Traditional!

 photo biscuits006-1.jpg

Fluffy buttermilk biscuits good enough to please my picky husband and son, as well as gluten-free for me? Could it be possible? I had tried many times in the past, but none came close. So many recipes contained an egg, which just felt wrong, but lacking any other option, I would follow the recipe. The husband and son would take a look at the oddly yellow-hued pastry and ask for cereal. Personally, I didn’t think they were too great, either. Other egg-free recipes were hard and seemed to squeak against my teeth, which was just plain weird. Eventually, after tossing more biscuits than eating them, I accepted that biscuits were a thing of the past.

 photo biscuits001-1.jpg

Then, I found Cup4Cup, the miraculous blend of flours that allowed me to create cinnamon rolls and focaccia. Surely, a biscuit wasn’t too much to ask for, was it?

 photo biscuits005-1.jpg

Well, lo and behold, it wasn’t! I made the fluffiest biscuits on Saturday morning, and everyone, including my son, the pickiest of all, thought they were magnificent! Look at them – the height, the gorgeous color, sheer gorgeous biscuitness! Magnifique! šŸ™‚

Gluten-Free Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits (Not gluten-sensitive? Click here for my traditional buttermilk biscuits.)
2 cups Cup4Cup Gluten-free flour
1 tablespoon baking powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
3/4 teaspoon salt
6 tablespoons chilled unsalted butter, cut into small cubes
2/3-3/4 cup buttermilk
Additional melted butter, optional

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
In a medium-size bowl, measure flour, baking powder, baking soda, and salt; cut butter into flour with a pastry cutter until there are lumps the size of peas.
Slowly pour in the buttermilk (about 1/2 cup), using a fork to combine the flour and buttermilk; add the remaining buttermilk a tablespoon at a time, until you get a shaggy-looking dough, but don’t overmix.
Liberally dust the counter with additional Cup4Cup, and scrape your dough onto the flour.
Give the dough a few turns, no more than 4, and pat into a circle about 1/2-1″ high.
Using a floured biscuit cutter, cut out biscuits and place on a parchment lined baking sheet, close together, but not touching.
Place in 450 degree oven, and bake for 10-12 minutes, or until golden brown.
Brush with melted butter immediately, if desired, and serve with extra butter, honey, and/or your favorite jam.

Print

Linked to the following:
I Should be Mopping the Floor
Say Not Sweet Anne
The Plaid and Paisley Kitchen
Frugality Gal
The Chicken Chick
Cooking for the Seven Dwarfs
Creating My Way to Success
The Casual Craftlete
The Dedicated House
Jam Hands
Mommy on Demand
A Marvelous Mess
Sew Can Do
Craft-O-Maniac
Make Ahead Meals
DIY Home Sweet Home
Mad in Crafts
Skip to my Lou
Making the World Cuter
C.R.A.F.T
Huckelberry Love
Mix It Up Monday
Melt in Your Mouth Monday
Tell Me About It Tuesday

14 thoughts on “Fluffy Buttermilk Biscuits – Gluten-Free and Traditional!

  1. I would like to make them today. Very last minute. But I don’t have buttermilk. I am wondering if regular milk would work. I know it will change the taste, but hoping it would still work. I know you can make buttermilk by adding apple cider vinegar to milk, but I haven’t had that good of success doing that in the past. Thank You. Looks wonderful!

  2. Just made these babies for brunch & I had to say thank you so much!! I haven’t had buttermilk biscuits in years. I went GF 4 years ago & have yet to find a recipe I love until now.

  3. Where I live, there are more than one brand called cup for cup. Can you please be specific about the variety you used or post a picture of it?

  4. These were better than gluten biscuits! Mine didn’t get as high as your picture, but they were a good size, and the flavor was so delicious! My family of four ate 15 of these in one day! Thanks so much for the recipe.

  5. Thanks Luanne! I actually just made (and gobbled happily -not ecstatically mind you, but happily enough) a batch from another brand, and while they are certainly edible, were still just not quite what we’re looking for. There is a lingering sensation in my mouth as often happens when too much baking powder is added. So next trip to the store I’ll be picking up a bag of C4C to try. The biscuits in the picture accompanying the article look amazing, I can hardly wait!

  6. Pingback: Low-Carb Gluten-Free Biscuits | Louanne's Kitchen

  7. Pingback: Low-carb Biscuits | Louanne's Kitchen

  8. These look so yummy!

    Thanks for linking up at Tell Me About It Tuesday. We hope you hop over and share with us again this week. (Sorry for the late comment!)

  9. Thanks for linking up at Sweet and Savoury Sunday, I’m the new co-host and would love for you to link up this weekend. They look brilliant, so light and fluffy!

Leave a Reply

