Oven-fried Chicken Schnitzel

So, my life seems to be on triple fast speed.  But, aren’t we all, I suppose.  I need an extra 3 hours per day.  Anyway, I do my best to cook at least 3 times weekly, eating the leftovers during the week.  My only requirement is that weekday dishes be quick and easy.  



I was perusing one of my older cookbooks, Cooking with Cajun Women, and I found a recipe for Oven-Crusted Chicken.  As usual, I tweaked it to my, or rather the husband’s requirements, which resulted in a very tasty dish.


I’ve given the recipe as written with my adjustments in red.  We ate this with a spinach salad – delicious!

Oven-fried Chicken Schnitzel
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
1/3 cup flour
1 1/2 teaspoons salt (1 teaspoon)
1/4 teaspoon cayenne
1/8 teaspoon dried thyme (1/4 teaspoon)
1/8 teaspoon crushed rosemary (did not use)
1/8 teaspoon marjoram (1/4 teaspoon oregano)
1 1/2 cups crushed cornflakes (plain breadcrumbs)
1 chicken, cut up into 8 pieces (1.5 lbs thinly sliced chicken breast filets)
Minced parsley, optional

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Line a baking pan with parchment or foil, then place a baking rack onto lined-pan; spray rack with non-stick spray and set aside.
Combine melted butter, flour, salt, cayenne, and dried herbs in a bowl.
Place crushed cornflakes or breadcrumbs into a shallow bowl.
Dip chicken into butter mixture, roll in cornflakes or breadcrumbs to coat.
Place on prepared rack.
Bake for 55-60 minutes for bone-in chicken, about 25 minutes for boneless chicken.

Leave a Reply

