Tres Leches de Coco

Well, I wish I had a reason for making this cake, I don’t, just wanted to take a stab at baking a tres leches cake.  I do have a reason for taking such a sad little picture, though.  It was a fly-by photo taken at work, because my husband didn’t like the cake, so I brought it to my staff.  Not the best lighting for photography nor the best dishes for plating, but I’ll tell you, it is definitely the best cake I’ve made in quite a while, even if the husband didn’t like it.

He said it was soggy – it’s not – and that it reminded him of bread pudding – nope, no similarities – but he did like the coconut flavor – one point.  I thought it was DELICIOUS!  Which is why I couldn’t risk keeping it at home.  My tolerance for gluten has increased, but not to the point where I could eat a piece daily; as it was, my limit is just a tiny square, but I’d be sorely tempted.  Because I made it for the husband, I didn’t garnish with toasted coconut, which would have gorgeous atop the whipped cream, but no, I added sad little maraschino cherries.  And, yes, whipped cream, which prompted him to suggest that “cool whip would have been better”  Cool Whip???  Husband, you’re killing me!

Anyway, you don’t need a reason to bake this either – it’s that good.  I used my favorite yellow cake recipe, but if you’re not into baking from scratch, just use a boxed yellow cake.  It’s the scrumptious 3-milk soaking syrup that makes this cake insanely good.  Enjoy!
Tres Leches de Coco
Cake Recipe
2 1/4 cups flour
1 1/4 cups sugar
3 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon salt
1 stick unsalted butter, very soft
1 1/4 cups milk
2 tablespoons oil (I used grapeseed, but any light oil is fine)
1 tablespoon vanilla
3 large eggs
Milk Soaking Syrup
12 oz can evaporated milk
1 cup heavy whipping cream
1 teaspoon vanilla
Whipped Cream
2 cups heavy whipping cream
1/3 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
Toasted coconut and/or cherries for garnish

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Spray a 13×9 baking dish with non-stick spray; set aside.
Mix flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt together in a mixing bowl.
In a 4-cup measure, combine milk, oil, vanilla, and eggs – blend together with an emulsion blender or use a fork/whisk.
With the mixer on low, add the pieces of butter to the flour mixture until butter is well-incorporated, about a minute or so.
With the mixer on low, slowly pour in the milk mixture, increasing the mixer speed to medium-high, continue to beat for about 2 minutes.
Pour batter into prepared baking dish.
Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
Remove from oven and allow to cool for 1 hour.
While cake cools, mix your soaking syrup.
Milk Soaking Syrup
Blend together soaking syrup and place in refrigerator until ready to use.
Once cake has cooled for an hour, pierce entire cake with a fork.
Pour soaking syrup over cake, cover with plastic wrap, and chill in refrigerator overnight.
Whipped Cream 
Combine whipping cream, sugar and vanilla in a large bowl.
Beat with mixer until peaks form; dollop and spread over chilled cake.
Linked to the following parties:

Cast Party Wednesday @Lady Behind the Curtain
Taking a Time-out Thursday @Mom on Timeout
Homemade by You @Pincushion Creations
Gallery of Favorites @The 21st Century Housewife   
Full Plate Thursday @Miz Helen’s Country Cottage

Leave a Reply

