Roasted Beet Salad

So, I’ve joined a terrific CSA, Covey Rise Farms, for the second year.  I actually split the bounty with a friend last year, but I decided to go whole hog veg this year.  Here’s what I received the first week: watermelon radishes, turnips, spring lettuce mix, beets, Napa cabbage, chard, broccoli, and parsley.  
I loved, loved, loved the watermelon radishes!  Look at them – aren’t they gorgeous?!?  And, they actually keep their color after being braised, so pretty.

The beets were delicious, super sweet, and I’m always impressed with that gorgeous deep red color.  I roasted them and tossed them in an assertive mustard vinaigrette with a bit of green onion, which complemented the sweetness of the beets. 

I sauteed the beet greens, chard, and cabbage in olive oil and garlic, easy, but delicious.  I didn’t take a picture, but I used the same method as I did when I prepared kale.  The parsley went into my meatballs, amongst other things, potato salad, curry, and sticky chicken
Looking forward to week two, which I pick up today!   

Roasted Beets with Tangy Mustard Vinaigrette 

1-2 lbs beets, trimmed and washed 
1-2 green onions, sliced
1/4 teaspoon Dijon or Creole-style mustard
1/4 teaspoon freshly grated garlic or a dash of garlic powder
1 tablespoon apple cider vinegar
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Wrap beets in foil and roast until tender, 1 to 1 1/2 hours. 
Unwrap beets and cool.
Slip skins from beets and cut into 1/4-inch-thick slices
To make vinaigrette:

You’ll need a small lidded jar for shaking the vinaigrette, or you can whirl it up in your food processor, your choice. 
Add all ingredients to jar and secure lid. 
With your thumb on the lid, vigorously shake the jar until the dressing is emulsified.
Pour desired amount over beets, add sliced green onions, and serve. 

I’ve linked to the following parties…
My Meatless Mondays 
Just Another Meatless Monday
Mangia Monday
Tasty Tuesdays
Tuesday’s Tasty Tidbits
Tempt My Tummy Tuesday
Tuesdays at the Table
Totally Tasty Tuesdays
Real Food Wednesday
What’s Cooking Wednesday
What’s on the Menu Wednesday
Whole Foods Wednesday
Cast Party Wednesday
Hearth and Soul
Taking a Timeout Thursday
Fight Back Friday

Leave a Reply

