Succulent Brisket with Onion Gravy (GF)

My favorite beef roast is brisket.  Specifically, bbq or smoked brisket.  The husband, however, isn’t a big fan of bbq sauce or even bbq rubs.  So, we get around this by either eating at a local bbq restaurant where I order bbq brisket, or when I make it at home, I cut the brisket in half and roast one half the brisket in the onion with onions and garlic and the other using a recipe that requires an overnight marinade.  At some point, I’ll post it for you all. 

Today, however, I offer you the onion and garlic version.  It is a super easy preparation that yields a delicious and tender roast.  It’s not quick, however, as brisket requires a long, slow roast in the oven.  I’ve made it in the slow cooker, but both I and the husband prefer it roasted in the oven.

The only knife you’ll need is for carving, as it is fork tender.  I do find it much easier to carve into pretty slices if I let it rest in the refrigerator overnight, so keep that in mind.

As for the gravy, I keep it super easy.  After removing the brisket from the pan, I skimmed off the oil, and poured the contents into a 4-cup measure, then I blended it up with my immersion blender.  The result is a delicious, intensely flavored gravy without any flour.  I do add about 1/2 cup of water, as when I say intensely flavored, I mean intensely flavored.  You can, of course, prepare a slurry and add it to the drippings to make a traditional gravy.  

Brett’s favorite way to eat the brisket is as a poboy.  I like it with a smear of horseradish and a side of mashed cauliflower…perfection!

Succulent Brisket
1 3-4 lb brisket
1 large onion, sliced thinly
4 cloves of garlic, peeled and smashed
Cajun or Creole seasoning – my favorite is Paul Prudhomme’s Magic Seasoning for Meat 
3-4 cups water (do not add all at once)
2 tablespoons light oil (I used grapeseed)

  • Turn on your broiler.
  • In the bottom of a baking pan big enough to fit your brisket, drizzle in the 2 tablespoons of oil.
  • Add the sliced onion and smashed garlic.
  • Generously coat your brisket with the seasoning.
  • Lay the brisket on the bed of onions – be sure it it fat side up.
  • Place in oven, about 6″ from broiler and broil for 10 minutes.
  • Remove from oven, reduce heat to 275 degrees.
  • Add one cup of water to the pan and tightly cover with foil.
  • Return to oven and roast for 90 minutes.
  • Remove from oven, peel back foil, and add another cup of water.
  • Cover with foil and return to oven for another 90 minutes.
  • Repeat the process until the brisket is tender – total roasting time is about 5 hours, depending upon the size of your brisket.
  • Remove from oven, allow brisket to cool for 30 minutes, wrap in foil, and refrigerate overnight or at least 4 hours.
  • To make the gravy, skim fat from drippings, pour contents into a 4-cup measure and emulsify with immersion blender; alternatively, pour into a blender and process until smooth.
  • Slice brisket against the grain and serve with gravy.
Leave a Reply

