Chicken Fajita Stuffed Poblano Peppers

So, why a poblano stuffed with chicken fajitas?  Well, we have a new Mexican restaurant in town, and last week when we had dinner there, I ordered Chicken Poblano.  I loved it – in fact, I don’t think I’d ever eaten a Mexican dish that I liked as well before.  Of course, I had to recreate it at home.  Now, my dish is not exact, as the restaurant version had a green chile cream sauce drizzle, and while I considered making one myself, I decided that I liked the dish as is.

After I made these, I called my sister to tell her that I wished she lived closer – this is her kind of dish.  Mine, too, actually.  My husband, not so much.  The child, not at all.  Anyway, I am putting one of the peppers into the freezer for her, and I’ll eat the others during the week.  If you have a craving for some delicious Tex-Mex, this will definitely hit the spot!

Chicken Fajita Stuffed Poblano Peppers
4 poblano peppers
1 lb chicken breasts, trimmed and sliced into 2″ slices
1 green bell pepper, sliced into thin strips,
1 medium onion, sliced into strips
1 cup salsa verde (I used La Costena – Walmart has it)
2-3 tablespoons Fajita Magic or your favorite fajita seasoning
2 tablespoons oil
1/2 cup shredded cheese, ie Chihuahua or Monterey Jack (Walmart sells Chihuahua cheese)
Garnishes: pico de gallo, guacamole, sour cream or Greek yogurt

Season the chicken breast with the Fajita Magic and allow to marinate in the refrigerator for about 15-30 minutes.
While chicken is marinating, prepare your poblano peppers.  
Position your oven rack about 4 inches from the broiler and turn your broiler on high. Line a large rimmed baking pan with foil.
With a paring knife, slice the chiles from stem to tip and place on prepared baking pan.
Broil until blackened, about 6 to 8 minutes. Turn them every 2 minutes or so, to allow them to blacken all over.  Remove from the oven and reduce heat to 375 degrees.
Allow the peppers to cool, then peel off the skins and cut out the seed cores, leaving the stems on. I used a paper towel to get remove the remaining seeds – don’t rinse your peppers.
Place peppers aside and make fajitas.
Heat one tablespoon of the oil in a large skillet, add the sliced bell pepper and onion, cook for about 5 minutes.
Add the remaining tablespoon of oil, if needed, and place chicken in the skillet with the peppers and onions.
Cook for 8 minutes, then add the 1 cup of salsa verde.
Cook on medium high, until salsa verde evaporates and chicken is cooked through; set aside.
Spray a 13×9 baking dish with nonstick spray and set aside.
Stuff each poblano pepper with 1/4 of the chicken fajitas.
Place each stuffed pepper in the prepare baking dish.
Cover each pepper with 1/4 of the shredded cheese.
Bake for 30 minutes or until cheese is bubbly and brown in spots.
Serve with garnishes, if desired.
 
Pico de gallo
3 Roma tomatoes, seeded and diced
1/2 small onion, diced
2 tablespoons minced cilantro
1 teaspoon of  fresh lime juice, optional
Mix together, stir in lime juice, and use immediately.
Leave a Reply

