Heavenly Hash aka Rocky Road Fudge…12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies & Sweets

One of my favorite Christmas treats used to be my mother-in-laws heavenly hash candy.  She used lots of marshmallows, which made it nice and gooey, not too many nuts, though.  Of course, I am the type of person who thinks nothing of adding an entire pound of pecans to a recipe that only calls for 2 cups, so my judgment may not be the best on whether something has not too many nuts.   Anyway, her recipe is delicious, foolproof, and always a big hit; however, on Sunday, I cleaned out my recipe binder and found a recipe that I had printed from Your Homebased Mom.   The recipe, although termed Rocky Road Fudge, is very similar to my mother-in-law’s recipe with the exception of melting marshmallows into the chocolate.  After finding the recipe on the blog, I loved the look of the chocolate, as there was something different about the texture, and I could not wait to make it.

I tossed two bags of mini-marshmallows into the freezer, thinking I’d make the recipe on Sunday night, but you know how things go, and I ended up making the recipe Monday night, so the marshmallows were good and frozen.  I did make my own tweaks, which are included in my recipe, but I’m also giving you the direct link to original recipe.  By the way, I used two bags of mini-marshmallows which made an enormous pan, perfect for sharing with teachers, neighbors, friends, and family!  Enjoy!

Heavenly Hash aka Rocky Road Fudge

  • 2-10.5 oz bags mini marshmallows, frozen
  • 4 cups sugar
  • 12 oz evaporated milk
  • 20 large marshmallows
  • 1 cup unsalted butter, cut into 8 slices each
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 12 oz dark chocolate chips (semi-sweet is fine)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 lb pecans, toasted

Toss both bags of mini marshmallows into freezer for at least 2 hours, although overnight is better.
After marshmallows have frozen, begin fudge.
Toast pecans in a 350 degree oven for 10 minutes; set aside.
Butter and line a 13×9 casserole dish – I used my large Pampered Chef rectangular baker***
In a deep pot, combine sugar, evaporated milk, and the 20 large marshmallows.
Cook over medium-high heat until melted, and allow mixture to boil for 6 minutes – stir continuously.
After 6 minutes, turn off heat; add in the chocolate chips and pieces of butter.
Stir mixture until chocolate and butter has melted, then add in the toasted pecans.
Pour 2 1/2 cups of the chocolate-pecan mixture into the bottom of the prepared casserole dish and spread to cover.
Pour mini marshmallows over chocolate, pressing marshmallows with your hands.
Pour remaining chocolate-pecan mixture over marshmallows, being sure to cover all of the marshmallows.
Allow to set overnight in the refrigerator.
Using parchment paper, remove entire block of fudge from dish and cut into pieces.

***The pan I used has a 14-cup capacity; if you don’t have anything of this size, you will need two 13×9 pans.  Alternatively, you can use 1 bag of mini marshmallows instead of 2.  The thickness will be reduced, and you have more chocolate than marshmallows, but it should fit in one pan.***

Today’s post is linked to these awesome blogs:

Leave a Reply

