Marinated Zucchini with Mint

So, the DVR.  How many shows do you have recorded?  50? 100? 232, like us?  Yes, there are 232 shows waiting for our viewing pleasure.  There are shows for Andrew – Magic School Bus, Wild Kratts, Electric Company and the husband – Storage Wars, Hardcore Pawn.  Our family shows include Warehouse 13, Eureka, Alphas, Fringe, and Raising Hope.  Of course, with the new season of shows beginning this week, there are already new shows waiting, The New Girl, Unforgettable, and others I can’t remember. 
Then, there are the shows that are uniquely mine – America’s Test Kitchen and Everyday Food.  I usually watch an episode or two over the weekend, when Andrew and Brett are elsewhere and I can settle in with a cup of tea, a basket of clothes, and the remote to fast forward through the uninteresting bits.   On Saturday, I watched an episode of Everyday Food, and I couldn’t wait to try the recipe demonstrated by John Barricelli – marinated zucchini with mint
I loved the look of the caramelized zucchini and the idea of the mint, so I added both to my grocery list, and on Sunday night, I was a happy girl.  The flavors combine beautifully – please don’t be afraid to add the mint, because it certainly makes the dish the star that it is.  I didn’t use the vinegar in the recipe, because I was working from memory, and I didn’t remember him using the vinegar in the episode.  After tasting the zucchini sans vinegar, I can certainly say that the dish is not lacking, but if you want to use it, by all means, do so.  Zucchini are still plentiful in our stores, so I plan to buy more and make this again!
Marinated Zucchini with Mint (adapted from Everyday Food)
3 zucchini, thinly sliced lengthwise
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil,  plus additional for drizzling
Coarse salt and ground pepper
1 garlic clove, minced
1 tablespoon white-wine vinegar (did not use)
2 tablespoons fresh mint leaves, torn
Preheat oven to 475 degrees.
Toss zucchini with 2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil; season with coarse salt and ground pepper, and place on two large baking pans.
Roast until zucchini are tender and undersides are browned, 10 to 15 minutes (my oven took 20 minutes, and I flipped them after 10 minutes)
Once roasted, place on a serving plate, sprinkle zucchini with minced garlic, and drizzle with 2 tablespoons oil and white-wine vinegar, if using.
Let stand 1 hour and sprinkle with torn mint leaves.
Serve.
I’ve linked today’s post to the following blogs – go visit them!

Allergy-Friendly Lunchbox Love
It’s a Party!

Leave a Reply

