Enchilada Soup

Day 3 of TS Lee – rain, rain, and more rain.  To be honest, I find rainy days indoors cozy; one of my favorite things is reading a book while sipping on a cup of tea as I listen to the steady patter of rain on the roof.  The husband and son, however, are stir-crazy, so they’ve roused me from my coziness into my second favorite thing to do on a rainy day – cooking. 

I made this soup yesterday, in between visits to the market and scouting store.  I love taco soup, but I’ve long wanted to make it without the packets of taco and ranch dressing.  My friend, Faye, gave me her recipe chicken tortilla soup on Friday, and I decided to use it as a jump-off.  Well, I have to say that I love this soup, really, I think it’s delicious!  I used kidney and black beans, along with hominy and corn, but feel free to use your favorite beans.  If you’re a taco soup fan, I think you’ll love this, too, so if you’re looking for a delicious, economical, and slow-cooker friendly soup, make this soon!

Enchilada Soup Printable recipe
2 onions, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 teaspoon cumin
1 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1 bay leaf
32 oz chicken or vegetable stock
1 can Rotel tomatoes (use regular diced tomatoes for less spice)
19 oz. can green enchilada sauce
2-15 oz. cans red kidney beans, undrained
15 oz. can black beans, undrained
11 oz. can niblet corn
15 oz. can hominy, undrained
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
*Garnish with extras: Greek yogurt or sour cream, shredded cheese, green onions, cilantro, tortilla chips

Heat extra virgin olive in skillet and cook onions and garlic until translucent; stir in cumin, chili powder, oregano, and bay leaf, cook another 2 minutes.
Spoon onion mixture into slow-cooker, add stock, Rotel, enchilada sauce, beans, hominy and corn.
Cover and cook for 6-8 hours on low or 3-4 hours on high.
Serve with garnishes and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

