Ina’s Garden…Caramelized Acorn Squash

Usually by August, I am impatiently waiting for the first signs of fall.  As I live in south Louisiana, I’m sorry to say that those signs are weeks, if not months, away; however, not one to be deterred, I attempt to create  fall-like scenarios.  I changed the desktop on my PC, iPad, and iPhone to fall leaves; I asked the husband to find my box of Southern Living Christmas books in the storage unit, and I’ve begun to cook dishes more appropriate to cooler temperatures than the current high 90s we experience daily. 
So, when choosing a recipe for out Ina’s Garden Wild Card theme, I immediately searched for a soup recipe, and I had actually decided upon her Roasted Butternut Squash Soup; however, when I went to the market to buy the butternut squash, there were none, so I ended up with acorn squash.  I knew I could substitute the acorn squash, but I did a quick search and found Ina’s Caramelized Butternut Squash.  I loved the simplicity & ease of the recipe, and I knew that the sweet acorn squash would be a perfect stand-in.
And, let me tell you, this squash ranks in my top ten of deliciousness – it’s sweet, it’s savory, it’s creamy, and has the tiniest hint of spiciness from the black pepper and my little additional tweak of cinnamon – I loved it, and I know you will, too. 
All of the Ina’s Garden hosts – April at The 21st Century Housewife, Chaya at Bizzy B. Bakes, Yummy Chunklet at Yummychunklet, Mia at Bright Morning Star, Peggy at Pantry Revisted, and yours truly – hope all of you will join us for our Wild Card Week linky party – you can make any Ina recipe!  How easy is that?  If you can’t cook along with us this go round, please join us on September 1, when our theme is Indian Summer.

Ina's Garden
Caramelized Acorn Squash (link to Ina’s recipe)
4 lbs acorn squash
6 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
1/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
2 tablespoons cinnamon-sugar

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees F.

Cut acorn squash in half, scoop out seeds, and cut into wedges falling natural shape of squash.
Peel skin and place all wedges into a large bowl.
Pour melted butter over wedges and toss to coat.
Place wedges onto parchment-lined baking sheet and evenly distribute brown sugar mixture, turning wedges over and coating underside, as well.
Roast for 30 to 45 minutes, until the squash is tender and the glaze caramelizes.
While roasting, turn the squash over half way through to be sure it browns evenly.
Enjoy!

I’m also linking this delicious recipe to the following blogs:

Frugal Food Thursday
What’s On Your Plate?
Making It With Allie
Delightfully Inspiring Thursday
Strut Your Stuff
Creative Juice
Fat Camp Friday

Leave a Reply

