Ina’s Garden…Zucchini Gratin

Ina's Garden

Welcome to Ina’s Garden!  Our July dish, Zucchini Gratin, was chosen by Peggy of Pantry Revisited.  The recipe can be found here or on Food Network
I loved this dish, although the changes I made resulted in a very rich side more appropriate for the Thanksgiving or Christmas table; let me tell you what I did.  So, the first tweak was the addition of garlic, 3 cloves.  It’s hard for me to imagine a savory zucchini recipe without the presence of garlic, and when is garlic not delicious?   Second tweak was the omission of flour, as I’ve gone gluten-free due to some health issues, which meant I was left with the dilemma of making a white sauce sans flour.  I’m in the infancy stages of gluten-free cooking, and I have no gluten-free baking mix; additionally, I’m short on time with preparing for the big move, so there was no time for research.  I decided to wing it and hope for the best.  I added half & half and allowed it to reduce until thickened; this worked like a charm.  A quick grating of fresh nutmeg, and I poured the zucchini into my baking dish.  I didn’t add the breadcrumbs, using only Gruyere cheese, and popped it into the oven.  Good heavens, my resulting dish was outstandingly rich, but oh so delicious!  I can see why Ina adds breadcrumbs, as the cheese and extra butterfat from the half & half created a little bit of buttery pooling on top of the casserole. 

I am a big fan of crunch, though, so I need to find a topping that’s gluten-free for that added texture.  Even if you’re not a zucchini fan, I really believe you would like this.  Also, don’t forego the nutmeg; it really adds a delicious warmth to the casserole and truly complements the flavors.  I will definitely make this again.  Thanks, Peggy, for a delicious choice and a great way to use zucchini! 

I hope all of you will join us for our linky party – it’s super easy, and you will love the recipe. I would love to see your creations, and if any of you have suggestions regarding gluten-free toppings, please let me know.  Definitely make an effort to visit the other members of Ina’s Garden, April at The 21st Century Housewife, Chaya at Bizzy B. Bakes, Yummy Chunklet at Yummychunklet, Mia at Bright Morning Star, and Peggy at Pantry Revisted, along with your fellow linky-participants.

If you can’t cook along with us this go round, please link-up on July 21, when Mia of Bright Morning Star hosts “Sweet Baked Love” a collection of Ina’s dessert recipes – yum!

 

Leave a Reply

