Ina’s Garden…Tequila Lime Chicken

Our theme for Ina’s Garten is Comforting and Delicious Chicken chosed by April, of The 21st Century Housewife.  Both the husband and I love chicken, so I was really excited about choosing a recipe.  Ina has so many chicken dishes, I felt like making all of them.  But, time was of the essence, as well as the fact that I’m all about the grill during the summer.  Enter, Tequila Lime Chicken.  This recipe is fantastic!  The husband declared it a winner, and I loved the flavors.  The only changes I made were the tequila and type of chicken.  Ina says to use top shelf; I didn’t have any Cuervo Gold, so I guess what I used was bottom shelf.  Also, I used plain old boneless, skinless chicken breasts, which worked fine for me.  Top shelf or not, Anyway, I don’t know how it could be any better. 
Note: I made this for the first time 2 weeks ago; since then, I have made twice more.  It’s definitely part of my summer meal rotation.  This would be a perfect recipe for Father’s Day!
Please link up your delicious chicken recipes – I can’t wait to see what everyone made!  Definitely make an effort to visit the other members of Ina’s Garden, April at The 21st Century Housewife, Chaya at Comfy Cook’s Kosher Kitchen, Yummy Chunklet at Yummychunklet, Mia at Bright Morning Star, and Peggy at Pantry Revisted, along with your fellow participants. We do ask that as a courtesy, you link back in your post to whichever host site you have linked to. It’s good blog hop etiquette, and it allows others to find one of the main Ina’s Garden posts and join in the fun. A simple, “Linked to Ina’s Garden at insert the name of whichever blog you have linked to, along with a link to their Ina’s Garden post here is absolutely fine.
We’d love for you to cook along with us for our next link up, which is Thursday, July 7th.  Peggy at http://pantryrevisited.blogspot.com/ chose Zucchini Gratin, perfect for summer’s bounty!  If you’d like a head start on making the recipe, find the recipe here.

1/2 cup gold tequila (I used regular tequila)
1 cup freshly squeezed lime juice (I used 6 limes)
1/2 cup freshly squeezed orange juice
1 tablespoon chili powder
1 tablespoon minced fresh jalapeno pepper, about 1 pepper, seeded
1 tablespoon minced fresh garlic
2 teaspoons kosher salt
1 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
6 boneless chicken breasts, skin on (I used skinless)
Combine the tequila, lime juice, orange juice, chili powder, jalapeno pepper, garlic, salt, and pepper in a large bowl.
Add the chicken breasts.
Refrigerate 8 hours.
Heat a grill to medium-high.
Remove the chicken breasts from the marinade, sprinkle well with salt and pepper, and grill them for about 6 minutes, until nicely browned.
Turn the chicken and cook until cooked through.
Remove from the grill to a plate and allow to rest for 5 minutes.
Serve hot or at room temperature.

Ina's Garden

One thought on “Ina’s Garden…Tequila Lime Chicken

  1. Pingback: Spicy Eggplant | Louanne's Kitchen

Leave a Reply

