Ina’s Garden…Tabbouleh

I cannot begin to tell you how happy I am that it’s June!  May was fraught with illness, ER visits, annoyances, & more stress than usual, so Hello, June, lovely to see you! 

So, it was my turn to choose a recipe for Ina’s Garden, and I chose one of my favorite summer dishes, tabbouleh.  I make tabbouleh often – with quinoa, barley, Israeli couscous, but I rarely make it with bulgur, traditional though it is.  The bulgur has a nice chew to it, and I think I’ll likely use it more often.  The recipe makes a large batch, so I brought it to work on Tuesday because I knew I couldn’t eat the entire bowl.  The salad was a huge hit, and it was gone in no time.  The recipe is simple, although my bulgur was no where near to being cooked after an hour, so I microwaved it for 4 minutes, and it was perfectly fluffy and delicious. Be sure to add the lemon juice and olive oil to the cooking liquid, because the flavor is terrific.  I followed Ina’s recipe nearly exactly, with the exception of the cherry tomatoes and salt.  I had a large bowl of locally-grown Creole tomatoes, so I used those rather than cherry tomatoes.  As for the salt, I didn’t add the entire amount listed, as it seemed like too much; I used less than half of the recipe amount.  So, you may want to go easy on the salt.  I remember the episode where she served the tabbouleh in pita bread with a large piece of feta cheese, so the next time I make this, I plan to add crumbled feta. 
So, if you’re a fan of tabbouleh, you’ll definitely like this recipe, and if you’ve never made it before, Ina’s recipe is a great recipe for you to try.  Please link up your delicious bowls of tabbouleh – I can’t wait to find out what you thought! Definitely make an effort to visit the other members of Ina’s Garden, along with your fellow participants. We do ask that as a courtesy, you link back in your post to whichever host site you have linked to. It’s good blog hop etiquette, and it allows others to find one of the main Ina’s Garden posts and join in the fun.  A simple, “Linked to Ina’s Garden at insert the name of whichever blog you have linked to, along with a link to their Ina’s Garden post here is absolutely fine.

On June 16, our theme is Comforting and Delicious Chicken, chosen by April of The 21st Century Housewife, so get out those cookbooks and/or take a look at Ina’s chicken recipes at the Food Network. 

http://gartenofina.blogspot.com
Tabbouleh Printable recipe
1 cup bulghur wheat
1 1/2 cups boiling water
1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice, about 2 lemons
1/4 cup good extra virgin olive oil
3 1/2 teaspoons kosher salt (I used 1 teaspoon sea salt)
1 cup minced green onions, white and green parts, about 1 bunch
1 cup chopped fresh mint leaves, about 1 bunch
1 cup chopped flat-leaf parsley, about 1 bunch
1 hothouse cucumber, diced
2 cups cherry tomatoes, halved
1 teaspoon black pepper

Place the bulghur in a large bowl, pour in the boiling water, and add the lemon juice, olive oil, and 1 1/2 teaspoons salt. Stir, then allow to stand at room temperature for about 1 hour.
Add the scallions, mint, parsley, cucumber, tomatoes, and the pepper; mix well. Season, to taste, and serve or cover and refrigerate.

Leave a Reply

