Quick & Easy Gyros with Tzatziki

I make tzatziki weekly – I love it!  I think of it as my multi-purpose-delicious-on-or-with-everything dip, sauce, and sandwich spread.  One of my favorite ways to use my tzatziki is on a gyro.  A week or two ago, I had leftover roast beef in the fridge.  Brett wanted a poboy, and I was going to have the same until I realized that I still had a container of tzatziki – gyros!  Well, a gyro for me, anyway.  I heated up a few slices of roast beef with a teaspoon of extra-virgin olive oil and a pinch of oregano.  Not a true gyro, but tasty enough.  I quickly defrosted a frozen pita bread, layered on the beef, red onion, more cucumbers, and the delicious tzatziki – heaven on a plate!  It’s just as delicious with leftover grilled chicken and/or grilled veggies.  Beware that it is quite garlic-laden, so go easy.  You can always add more garlic.

Tzatziki Printable recipe
24 oz Greek yogurt
1 packet fresh dill, minced (1/4-1/2 cup – I keep adding it until I think it tastes “right”)
6 cloves garlic (use less if you’re not a garlic lover)
2 hothouse cucumbers
1-2 teaspoons of lemon juice (more if you like it tart)
3-4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Salt to taste

• In a food processor or with a grater, process cucumbers (with skin)
• Place grated cucumber in a clean kitchen towel or piece of cheesecloth and wring out liquid; add to large bowl.
• Grate or finely mince garlic, add to cucumber.
• Mince dill and add to cucumber.
• Stir in the yogurt and add 1 teaspoon of lemon juice and 3 tablespoons of extra virgin olive oil.
• Taste for seasoning, adding salt and extra dill, lemon juice, and/or olive oil to taste.

Leave a Reply

