Chicken Piccata & Pasta Aglio e Olio

 Andrew has karate class twice a week, Tuesday & Thursday.  These are also the days that I put him on the bus, which means my work day starts and ends later than usual.  So, I use that extra time in the morning to make dinner so that we have something to eat that doesn’t involve a drive-through.  Either I use the slow cooker, or I prepare something similar to today’s post.  An easy, quick (less than 30-minutes) and delicious meal that heats up well, too.  While I think capers add a lovely bright burst of flavor, the husband meticulously picks them out and puts them on the side, while Andrew just flat-out refuses to even eat a bite, so, in the interest of family harmony, I leave them out.  You, of course, should add them!  Also, my guys are not sauce fans, so my dish is not very saucy – reduce the sauce as you wish.
Growing up, we ate pasta aglio e olio at least 2x weekly – cheap, easy, and we all liked it, except we referred to it as pasta with garlic.  I had never heard the term until I saw it on a restaurant menu, and better yet, in New Orleans restaurants, it’s referred to as pasta bordelaise, even though there’s not a drop of Bordeaux wine in the sauce.  Both Brett & Andrew like it, although I have to pulverize the garlic into a paste so that it virtually disappears into the sauce, and while my photo has extra parsley sprinkled on top, their plates are sans extra “green stuff.”  Personally, parsley is one of my top 2 favorite herbs, the other being basil, and I use it quite liberally on my plate.  You should, too, as it just makes all of the flavors pop!  If you’re in need of something quick, easy, and best of all, delicious, add this to your repertoire.
Chicken Piccata Printable recipe
1 1/2 lbs chicken breast tenders
Lemon pepper seasoning
Flour for dusting
3 tablespoons unsalted butter
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
2 cloves garlic, finely minced
2 cups chicken broth
Juice of one lemon
2 tablespoons parsley, minced, plus additional for garnish
3 tablespoons drained capers, optional
Place chicken tenders in between large sheets of plastic wrap; with a heavy rolling pin, pound tenders until they are about 1/4″ thick.
Season liberally with lemon pepper.
Dust in flour and set aside.
Heat 1 tablespoon butter with 1 tablespoon olive oil over medium-high heat; add half of the chicken tenders and cook until golden brown on each side, about 3 minutes per side.  Remove onto a platter.
Repeat with 1 tablespoon butter, 1 tablespoons olive oil, and chicken tenders; place onto platter.
Add remaining butter and olive oil to pan, along with garlic and capers, if using, and cook over medium heat until garlic is fragrant and lightly golden.
Increase heat to medium-high and pour in chicken stock and lemon juice; bring to a boil, return chicken tenders to pan, and cook for 5-7 minutes, or until sauce thickens to desired consistency.
Sprinkle on parsley and serve with pasta aglio e olio and parsley garnish.

Pasta Aglio e Olio
1 lb angel hair pasta
4 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
4 cloves garlic, minced
1/4 cup reserved pasta water
Grated Parmesan cheese
Cook and drain pasta according to package directions, reserving 1/4 cup of pasta water before draining.
Heat olive oil in a saucepan over medium-high heat; add garlic and cook for 3 minutes, stirring constantly.
Pour in reserved pasta water and bring to a boil, then add drained pasta and toss with sauce.
Serve with a liberal sprinkle of Parmesan cheese and parsley, if desired.
Linked to
19 thoughts on “Chicken Piccata & Pasta Aglio e Olio

  1. Oh man, your boys took all of the good things out of this dish! I love piccata and use extra capers 🙂 Aglio e Olio, another winner! I am featuring this recipe on Wednesday @ Mangoes and Chutney. Stop by and say hi and grab a button if you'd like!

  2. Chicken Piccata has long been a favorite of mine, Louanne. But then, all you have to do is add lemon to something and I'm on board. Such an easy dish, too. I must remember to add capers the next time I make it!

  3. I always HATED capers as a kid but now I adore them! I love the sound of this dish…that lemony goodness of a sauce. Such a classic, and for a good reason!

  4. What a delicious looking plate! The chicken and pasta would go so well together. I'm noting this one down!!

  5. This is my Mom's favorite and up to about a year ago I didn't like it – I was not a caper lover. All of a sudden I like them (weird)! So delicious with the garlicky spaghetti!

  6. Hi Louanne,
    If it is coming out of your kitchen I know it is going to be good. This recipe for Chicken Piccata sure does not disappoint me, it looks awesome. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope to see you next week!

  7. Hey Heather!
    Thank you for the sweet comment! Would you believe the husband, who I thought
    loved this dish, termed it “it's ok, a little too saucy.” I brought the
    leftovers to work for lunch!
    xoxo,
    Louanne

    Louanne
    Visit me online: Louanne's Kitchen
    Follow me on Twitter: @LouannesKitchen

    ________________________________

  8. This looks really delicous! I'm always on the lookout for great and easy pasta meals, as pasta is one of my family's favourite meal. I would add more parsley too, since this is the herb I use the most! Thanks for sharing this lovely recipe.

  9. This looks fabulous! You are my hero, I would be hitting the drive thru on busy weeknights. Great wife and mom!

  10. Louanne, I'm always on the look-out for a yummy chicken recipe. This looks so fresh, perfect light evenings. I hit the link to print, but it didn't go to my printer. Is there something wrong on my end? I updated Internet Explorer last night to Explorer 9 and am getting used to it. Anyway, olio pasta is a real favorite; next is a simple basil sauce. Thanks for today's recipe. Hub took a look – he went hmmmm…so I think tomorrow nite is your recipe! (Shrimp Creole tonite.)

Leave a Reply

