Shredded Beef

We recently received Slow Cooker Revolution by the editors at America’s Test Kitchen in the library.  I couldn’t wait to check it out, and I’ve been quite impressed with all of the recipes I’ve made thus far.  Today’s post is the Shredded Beef – absolutely delicious and infinitely versatile.  From one batch, I’ve made enchiladas, Mexican lasagna, and soft tacos.  Brett’s favorite way to eat the beef is rolled into a flour tortilla with a bit of shredded cheese, a very simple sandwich, but oh so mouth-watering good.  The sauce is thick and redolent with chili aroma; the beef is succulent and tender.  Let me just cut to the chase and say that this is a perfect recipe.  I have quite a few slow cooker cookbooks, and honestly, I’ve been disappointed by nearly all of the recipes.  This cookbook, however, does not disappoint, and because I can’t keep it indefinitely, I’ve ordered it for myself.  Can’t wait to share the other recipes I’ve made, so be on the lookout for Thai-style Chicken Soup and Red Lentil Stew.

Shredded Beef  Printable recipe
2 large onions, diced
6 cloves garlic, minced
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced (my addition)
3 tablespoons vegetable oil (I used canola)
1/3 cup chili powder
1 tablespoon ground coriander
1 tablespoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper (didn’t add)
1 15oz can tomato sauce
2 teaspoons sugar
3-lb boneless beef chuck roast (I used a mock chuck roast)
Salt & pepper
Place onions, garlic, jalapeno pepper, oil, chili powder, coriander, cumin, and cayenne, is using, into a microwavable bowl and stir.
Microwave on high for 5 minutes, then spoon into slow cooker.
Stir tomato sauce and sugar into onion mixture.
Season roast with salt and pepper, add roast to slow cooker, turning over a few times to coat with sauce.
Cover and cook for 9-11 hours on low, or 5-7 hours on high.
Remove beef from slow cooker, allow to cool slightly, then shred; discard excess fat.
After remaining sauce in slow cooker has settled, remove fat from surface.
Toss beef with 1 cup of the sauce, adding more as desired. 
Use as desired.
10 thoughts on “Shredded Beef

  1. I love slow cookers…all those flavors need time to develop.

    Great post and thanks for sharing at the hearth and soul hop.

  2. This looks delicious – I love how versitile it is! I really need a slow cooker…

  3. I passed my slow cooker on to my DIL and am beginning to regret it! So many wonderful recipes! This one looks special. I love the spices used.

  4. This sounds so good Louanne! Shredded beef is such a versatile dish and I love the flavours you have used in this. Thank you for sharing it with The Hearth and Soul Blog Hop 🙂

  5. I love shredded beef, Louaanne! This is mouth-watering delicious! My first magazine issue arrived and I LOVE it! Thanks again! xoxo

Leave a Reply

