Chicken Satay with Coconut Rice

For the past week or so, I’ve tried to cook, or grill, rather, our dinner outside.  Andrew loves to eat on the patio, and with our two scavenger kittens, it’s nice to eat in peace.  Cleanup also seems to be easier, although I seem to do a lot of walking back and forth through the house because I’m constantly forgetting something in the kitchen.  Anyway, last night I made chicken satay and coconut rice.  Our grill has a burner, so I cooked the rice outside, too.  The corn on the cob, however, was cooked inside; I know corn on the cob is an odd accompaniment to Asian food, but the husband has an almost Pavlovian response to food cooked on the grill – corn on the cob must also be served.  Doesn’t bother me a bit, as I’m a fan as well; I always add a bit of liquid crab boil to the water, so the corn has a little kick. 
So, on to the chicken satay.  I concocted my own marinade, taking into consideration that the husband is not a big ginger fan, which meant I had to restrain myself, but I was very pleased with the flavor of the chicken.  Slightly spicy, slightly sweet, and incredibly tender and moist.  I did thread the tenders on skewers, but they caught on fire during the grilling process and smoldered into nothingness.  I soaked the skewers for 30 minutes – not enough?  I’m going to buy some metal ones, and just be done with the whole soaking process.  But, my favorite part of the meal was the coconut rice – it was delicious!  You can’t see it in the photos, but I added 1/2 cup of dessicated coconut, which intensified the coconut flavor.  Toasted coconut on top would have been awesome, but I knew the husband would have just freaked.  You, on the other hand, should add toasted coconut nut – you’ll thank me!

Coconut Rice Printable recipe
2 cups basmati rice
1 can coconut milk
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup desiccated coconut
Water

Pour coconut milk into a large measuring cup, fill with water to make 3 1/3 cups of liquid.  Pour into saucepan; add rice, coconut, and salt, stirring to mix.  Bring to a boil, cover and reduce to very low simmer.  Cook for about 15-18 minutes, or until rice is tender.  Fluff with fork. 
Optional: Sprinkle on toasted coconut before serving.

Chicken Satay
1 1/2 lb chicken tenders
6 cloves garlic, grated or finely minced
1 teaspoon grated ginger
1 serrano pepper, seeded and minced
2/3 cup smooth peanut butter
2/3 cup coconut milk
2 tablespoons soy sauce
2 tablespoons brown sugar
2 tablespoon vegetable oil
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1 tablespoon curry powder
1 stalk lemongrass, optional, but really tasty

In a bowl, combine all ingredients except for chicken tenders.  Add tenders, stir to coat and refrigerate for at least 8 hours or overnight.
Preheat a grill to high heat.  Thread tenders onto skewers and grill for 5-7 minutes per side, or until nicely charred and cooked through.

13 thoughts on “Chicken Satay with Coconut Rice

  1. I love chicken satay Louanne! What a delicious idea to serve it with coconut rice! I can't wait to start grilling again! xoxo

  2. Delicious Louanne! I'm so glad I didn't click over and find one of your delectable desserts – giving up sweets for lent and then seeing those desserts just gets me drooling on my keyboard. Have a wonderful Sunday 🙂

  3. This looks delicious! We love chicken satay and paired with the rice it would make a great week night meal in our home. Thank you.

    Jo

  4. This is a really lovely recipe and your photos of the satay are wonderful. I'll have to try this verdion. It sounds delicious. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  5. The sun is shining here and this sounds like a great Friday night to me! I haven't made coconut rice….I only have brown….it should work fine right?

  6. What a lovely Asian dinner! The chicken looks really tasty and good, great with the coconut rice. Yummy!

  7. Hi Louanne,
    It's grillin time! This looks like great chicken, that we would love. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and hope to see you next week!

  8. Saving this one, Louanne! Think I'll make it when my brother comes to visit next week! He loves anything with curry, and this would be no exception! Will let you know how it comes out, but we have to grill indoors on my LC grill pan…

  9. Delicious dish Louanne! I can't wait for the weather to become warm to be able to grill as well. You are so lucky you can do this now. Your chicken looks mouthwatering!

  10. OMG, I can't wait to try this. All my favorite flavors and grilling seems like a great idea after all the rain we have had, unless it floated away!

Leave a Reply

