Save Room for Dessert…Banana Split Pie

Do you remember this pie?  It’s been ages since I ate it, and I can’t even remember ever making it.  Anyway, I bought a new cookbook last week, Pecans from Soup to Nuts and when I finally got a chance to look at it, I knew this would be the first recipe I’d make.  It’s a little different from what I remember, which seemed to have pudding and maybe cake?  I’m not sure.  I tweaked the recipe just a bit, adding vanilla, and tossing the pineapple and bananas together to keep the bananas from browning, and made the crust without the ground pecans. This pie is a cross between cheesecake, cream pie, and pudding, in other words, absolutely delicious!  We’re having a crawfish boil next weekend, and I’ve been assigned dessert, so I’m considering making this again.  When the husband gives something two thumbs up, I know I have a winner!  So, be sure to save room for dessert!

Banana Split Pie Printable recipe
3 cups graham cracker crumbs
1 stick butter, melted
8-oz cream cheese, softened
1 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
16-oz sour cream
3 bananas, sliced
20-oz can crushed pineapple
Maraschino cherries, with or without stems, for garnish
1 cup pecans, toasted and chopped
Whipped cream or cool whip
Grated chocolate, optional

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.
In a 13×9 baking dish, melt butter in microwave, then add graham cracker crumbs and mix well, pressing the mixture onto the bottom; set aside.
Combine the cream cheese, sugar, and vanilla in another mixing bowl and beat with an electric mixer until light and fluffy.
Add the eggs, one at a time, beating well after each addition, until completely blended.
Spread this mixture evenly over the graham cracker crust and bake for 30 minutes.
Remove from the oven, spread the sour cream over the cream cheese mixture, and bake for 15 minutes longer.
Remove from the oven and cool completely.
While base is cooling, drain crushed pineapple and slice bananas into 1/4″ slices; gently toss pineapple and bananas together.
When cool, layer the pineapple and banana mixture over the sour cream and then spread the whipped cream evenly over the top.
Dust with grated chocolate, if desired, then sprinkle with the chopped pecans and the cherries.
Refrigerate for at least 2 hours before serving

Whipped Cream
2 cups heavy whipping cream
1/4 cup powdered sugar
1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla
Beat whipping cream until soft peaks form – texture should be billowy.
Stir in powdered sugar and vanilla.
Use immediately.

Recipe adapted from Pecans from Soup to Nuts by Keith Courrege and Marcelle Bienvenu

6 thoughts on “Save Room for Dessert…Banana Split Pie

  1. I have never had a banana split pie, Louanne, and I have definitely been missing out! Thank you for introducing me to it – I will be making it VERY soon! It looks gorgeous in your photographs. Thank you for linking up with Let's Do Brunch. The linky is up again for this week, so I hope that you will come along and join in again if you haven't already 🙂

  2. this was the BEST pie I have ever had in my whole life!!! There is no getting better than this, even at restraunts

  3. I remember this pie! It's an oldie. But absolutely delicious! Forgot all about it…now I'll copy the recipe and file it to make soon! Thanks Louanne!

  4. Wow Louanne, what a dessert!! I used to make something similar but I don't think mine had the cream cheese. I like the addition of the cream cheese layer though, I'll have to try this one. This looks crazy delicious!

Leave a Reply

