Sweet and Spicy Glazed Corned Beef Brisket

 photo IMG_50051.jpg
Happy St. Patrick’s Day!  So, I know I talk write incessantly about my Sicilian heritage, and occasionally, my French & Basque heritage, but I rarely speak of the fact that I’m also part Irish.  My paternal great-grandfather was Irish, so I suppose that makes me 1/8 Irish.  Well, it’s enough to say Erin Go Bragh!
I’ve always enjoyed corned beef and cabbage, and actually cook it more often than once yearly.  I don’t always cook my cabbage along with the corned beef; sometimes I make smothered cabbage, and I have been known to just go wild and mix up both Sicilian & Irish heritage and fry some cabbage patties to eat alongside!  Anyway, I usually cook my corned beef in the slow cooker.  The results are always on the mark and dinner is ready when you arrive home from work.  Well, last year, I tried something new – baking the corned beef.  It never occurred to me that the long-baking time would concentrate the salt to the point of having an inedible piece of brisket.  This year, however, I took a different approach.  I cooked my corned beef in the slow cooker all day.  Then, I removed it from the slow cooker, cooled it about 15 minutes, and then placed it onto a parchment lined baking sheet.  The final touch was a slathering of a Creole mustard and honey mixture along with some brown sugar.  I then broiled it for 4 minutes, reduced the heat and baked at 450 degrees for another 12 minutes.  Perfection!  The glaze is sweet and spicy, and a just a little crunchy.  If you’re looking to prepare your corned beef with a twist, I hope you give this a whirl!

 photo IMG_50091.jpg

Sweet and Spicy Glazed Corned Beef Brisket
1 4-lb corned beef
1/3 cup Creole mustard
2 tablespoons honey
1/2 cup light brown sugar
Prepare corned beef until tender by either simmering in slow cooker all day (8 hours) or boiling in water for 3 hours.
Drain when tender and allow to cool for 15 minutes.
While corned beef is cooling, preheat broiler to high and prepare mustard mixture.
In a small bowl, combine Creole mustard and honey; stir well.
Slather mustard mixture onto corned beef and evenly distribute brown sugar, patting into mustard mixture.
Broil for 4 minutes, then reduce heat to 450 degrees and continue to cook for another 12 minutes.
Allow to cool before slicing against the grain.

Print
 photo IMG_50071.jpg

Linked to Look What I Made!

5 thoughts on “Sweet and Spicy Glazed Corned Beef Brisket

  1. Oh my goodness Louanne,
    I had to stand in line today just to get some of your wonderful Glazed Corned Beef Brisket. Your recipe is just mouth watering. Thank you so much for sharing with Full Plate Thursday and please come back!

  2. This is just the recipe I needed! My husband is 1/4 Irish (his grandmother being from Ireland) and I would love let my son experience Irish food as well as the Cajun food he is exposed to all the time 🙂 Thanks for the recipe!!

Leave a Reply

