Haricot Vert with Tomatoes

Whenever I plan to visit Whole Foods, I make sure to take along my thermobag to keep all of the cold items cold during the drive back home.  It’s not as though we live bazillions of miles away, but it’s at least 45 minutes, and since we must drive across a 25-mile long bridge, it’s a good idea to be prepared.  Anyway, I love, love, love the frozen haricot vert, so I tend to buy at least 5-6 bags.  When I looked into my freezer last night, I saw there was only 1 bag left, so a trip is planned for this weekend. 
For the last bag, though, I knew just exactly what I wanted to make.  A friend of mine, Vickie, had passed on a recipe entitled Italian Green Beans, and it brought to mind an old Weight Watcher recipe my grandmother used to make with green beans and tomato juice.  This version, however, is leaps and bounds more tasty than the ww version.  I doubt if there was any oil in the ww version, so the addition of extra virgin olive oil makes a bold flavor statement, as well as the spices.  The recipe actually calls for fresh tomatoes, but I substituted a 14.5 oz can of petite-diced tomatoes, which I drained, and as I had no dried oregano, I substitituted dried marjoram.  I evaporated all of the liquid to allow for some caramelization on the beans and the tomatoes, and the flavors are wonderfully intense and sweet.  I can’t wait to make this during the summer with both homegrown green beans and tomatoes.

Haricot Vert with Tomatoes Printable recipe
1 lb whole haricot vert or green beans (fresh or frozen)
1/4 cup extra virgin olive oil
14.5-oz can petite-diced tomatoes, drained (liquid reserved) or 3 fresh tomatoes, diced
2 tablespoons grated garlic
1/2 teaspoon dried basil
1/2 teaspoon dried marjoram or oregano
Salt & pepper to taste

Steam haricot vert until tender.
Heat extra virgin olive oil in large skillet and add steamed haricot vert, tossing to coat.
Add garlic, and cook for 3-5 minutes.
Add drained tomatoes, spices, and 3 tablespoons of the reserved tomato liquid.
Cook on high, until liquid evaporates; continue to cook for another 5 minutes or so, until haricot vert and tomatoes caramelize a bit.
Taste for seasoning and serve.

3 thoughts on “Haricot Vert with Tomatoes

  1. I thought my Whole Foods was far, I have to go downtown. Good idea taking along something to keep things cold. This dish looks simply divine!

Leave a Reply

