Tomato Bruschetta

The library was closed on President’s Day, but Andrew had school and Brett went to work.  I had the entire house to myself!  Honestly, I couldn’t remember the last time I was in the house alone.  I didn’t even know what to do first – go back to bed?  Read?  Watch a movie?  I ended up just laying on the sofa and looking at the ceiling thinking, “ah, peace & quiet” then, one of the kittens jumped on me and that was the end of being lazy on the sofa.  I did have a nice day, though, I cooked and blogged, and then, settled in to fold clothes and watch a movie.  I scrolled through the on-demand queue and decided to watch Julie and Julia again.  I don’t know if I missed the bruschetta scene the first go-round, or if it just didn’t register as something I wanted to eat right now, but it definitely made an impression this time.  I couldn’t get the visual out of my mind – the perfect tomatoes, beautiful basil, and the bread!  The bread frying in the pan thrilled me to no end!  As it’s not exactly tomato season, I knew I was taking a chance, but there was no way I could wait.  I found some great looking grape tomatoes and these little gems; I knew the gorgeous orange hue and the deep red would look beautiful with the deep green of the basil.  I also picked up two fat loaves of Italian bread.  I found many recipes for Julie & Julia’s bruschetta, and all of them read like the tomato salad my family has made for years, so I just went with my instinct.  I did find Susan Spungen’s recipe, and it’s virtually identical to my family’s salad; Susan was the movie’s food stylist.  As for the bread, I attempted to fry it, but that was a disaster, so I decided to just toast the bread in the oven.  I cannot wait until I have fresh tomatoes from my garden to make this, although I’m sure I’ll make it many times over before then – it is so good!

Tomato Bruschetta
2 pints grape tomatoes
2 pints red tomatoes
12-15 leaves fresh basil
2 loaves Italian bread, cut into 1/2″ slices
2 cloves garlic
Extra virgin olive oil
Salt & pepper to taste

Preheat oven to 425 degrees
Line baking pans with parchment paper
Brush bread slices with olive oil and place oil-side up onto prepared pan
Bake at 425 until golden brown
Remove from oven, flip slices and return to oven to toast other side
Remove from oven and rub garlic cloves over bread slices (oil-side)
Prepare tomatoes
Dice tomatoes, tear basil leaves, and toss together
Pour olive oil over tomatoes – not too much – 3-4 tablespoons or so – and allow to sit for 15 minutes
Add salt and pepper just before serving
Spoon tomatoes over bread and enjoy!

Linked to Hearth and Soul, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, Meatless Mondays, Tasty Tuesday, Dr. Laura’s Tasty Tuesday, Wandering Wednesday BlogHop, What’s Cooking Wednesday, Tuesday Night Supper Club, Recipe of the Week: Appetizers

21 thoughts on “Tomato Bruschetta

  1. Oh yeah, bruschetta is one of my all time favorites. Irresistibly delicious! My mouth is watering just looking at it. I think I know what I'm going to have to make this evening!!

  2. so funny…when i took my nieces to see that movie, the first thing they wanted to do when we got home was make bruschetta. i have never tried frying the bread in olive oil, but it did look oh so amazing! your version is bringing back such a fond memory and a bit of a food craving. thank you for sharing with tuesday night supper club.

  3. This year when my youngest went to kindergarten I started to have a little time home alone (my college daughter is home often during the day) – prior to that I think maybe 4 or 5 times in 20+ years. It is fun! I love puttering without anyone knowing if I get a little lazy on the couch! Your bruschetta looks divine – I can see why you had to make it! Thanks for sharing this with us at the Hearth and Soul Hop.

  4. Hello,

    We bumped into your blog and we really liked it – great recipes YUM YUM.
    We would like to add it to the Petitchef.com.

    We would be delighted if you could add your blog to Petitchef so that our users can, as us,
    enjoy your recipes.

    Petitchef is a french based Cooking recipes Portal. Several hundred Blogs are already members
    and benefit from their exposure on Petitchef.com.

    To add your site to the Petitchef family you can use http://en.petitchef.com/?obj=front&action=site_ajout_form or just go to Petitchef.com and click on “Add your site”

    Best regards,

    Vincent
    petitchef.com

  5. I just started buying those sweet yellow tomatoes, i like them so much better than the red! I am a brushetta lover myself, and this looks great!

  6. Looking forward to some down time myself, your tomato bruschetta looks wonderful. I can't wait to make it, then eat it slowly with maybe a simple glass of wine.

  7. How nice to get a day to yourself 🙂 Your tomato bruschetta looks wonderful! I love love love brushcetta. Can't wait for tomato season when my garden is in full of fresh tomatoes. Have a great day!

  8. Don't you just love that when it happens? When it happens to me I am so overwhelmed I end up doing nothing except enjoying the piece and quetness. The bruschetta by the way looks fantastic and juicy!

Leave a Reply

