Tastes Like Pecan Pie Cake

The real name for this cake has long been forgotten. If I had to guess, mandarin orange was probably in the title. But, given that the cake has no mandarin orange flavor whatsoever, I can see why it’s known as “tastes like pecan pie cake” in my family.  I decided to sprinkle turbinado sugar over the pecans rather than the usual brown sugar, and my sister and I loved it!  The turbinado sugar adds a wonderful caramelized crunch to the pecans and the flavor is delicious!  Always a hit, easy to make, and delicious to eat, be sure to save room for dessert when you bake this cake!

Tastes Like Pecan Pie Cake Printable recipe
2-11oz cans mandarin oranges, drained (reserve syrup)
1 cup flour
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 cup reserved syrup
1 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
1 large egg, beaten
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 cup turbinado sugar (substitute dark brown sugar)
3 cups pecan halves

Preheat oven to 350 degrees or 325 degrees if using a glass pan.
Butter or spray with non-stick spray a 13×9 pan.
Whisk together flour, 1/2 cup brown sugar, 1/2 cup granulated sugar, baking soda, and salt.
With a mixer, beat together the egg, vanilla, mandarin oranges, and 1/2 cup of the reserved syrup.
Combine wet and dry ingredients and pour into prepared 13×9 baking dish.
Evenly distribute the pecans over the top of the batter, then sprinkle on the turbinado sugar.
Bake for 45-50 minutes and serve with vanilla ice cream.

10 thoughts on “Tastes Like Pecan Pie Cake

  1. Pecan pie is my favorite pie.. I'm glad I came over, this will be in my to do list.
    thank you for sharing… btw, I would like to invite you over as I am hosting a $50 gift cert from CSN. I would love to see you stop by.

    Best,
    Malou

  2. My friends are going to love you, I am making this for a coffee I am hosting this week end. Thank you for sharing this great recipe! Have a fun day!

  3. Looks delish! I have added you to my bloglist…I would be so happy if you might add mine to yours! Can't wait to check back for some more inspiration for this weekend's saturday night supper!
    Thanks!
    Kim

  4. I've never seen oranges baked like this before Louanne. I love pecan pie – this is so unique and delicious!(I will email you when I hear back.)

Leave a Reply

