Mediterranean Hamburger with Fresh Mozzarella

As you all know, my husband and child are not adventurous eaters.  Feed them plain hamburgers, plain pasta, ice cream with “no stuff” and they are happy campers.  I’m fine with that, really, I am, to each his own, right?  It’s easy enough to create two versions of whatever we happen to be eating.  Take a hamburger, for instance, a good hamburger is a thing of beauty, juicy beef, great toppings, grilled bread, delicious, right?  I usually start with about 2 lbs of ground chuck.  Of that 2 lbs, 1 1/2 lbs are made into simple, but tasty hamburgers – salt and a smidge of pepper.  The remaining half-pound?  Well, that depends upon my refrigerator contents, my mood, what I ate for lunch, whether the moon is full, you get the picture.  The weather has been very nice the past week or so, and we decided to grill burgers Monday night.  I was in the mood for an Italian-flavored burger.  I had fresh mozzarella in the fridge, ciabatta buns in the pantry, a beautiful bunch of fresh parsley, and a bag of baby spinach that I would dress and use in place of lettuce.  I made the burgers for the guys, and then I prepared my delicious take on my favorite hamburger…thus far…
Mediterranean Hamburger with Fresh Mozzarella Printable recipe
1/2 lb ground chuck
1 egg
1/2 cup Italian-flavored bread crumbs
1/4 cup Parmesan cheese, grated
2 oz fresh mozzarella, cut into chunks
1 tablespoon fresh parsely, chopped
1/4 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper
Tap water, 1/4 cup or so
Ciabatta buns

Mix all ingredients, adding more water if necessary, and shape into 2 large hamburger patties
Grill over high heat for 4-5 minutes, flip and continue to cook over medium heat for another 4 minutes or until desired doneness.
Serve on ciabatta buns with spinach salad

Spinach Salad
2-3 cups loosely-packed baby spinach
1 1/2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
1/2 teaspoon white wine vinegar
Salt, pepper, and garlic powder to taste
Toss together and pile onto burgers

7 thoughts on “Mediterranean Hamburger with Fresh Mozzarella

  1. You're my burger souls sister, Louanne! I love to make up burger flavor combos on the spur-of-the-moment too. I look in my cabinet and fridge and let me imagination take over. It usually results in a delicious dinner…and I'm lucky that Michael is pretty adventurous with his eating!

  2. This burger looks so juicy it makes me cry Louanne. My family too especially my son are not that much adventurous, but they lould love these burgers!

  3. Wow! Looks really delicious! And I'm crazy over mozzarella cheese! Love their melting gooey texture! I always have some in my fridge. Your burger with the cheese oozing out looks incredibly yummy!

Leave a Reply

