Paneed Round Steak with Everyday Marinara & Angel Hair

Valentine’s Day was a fairly typical day at our house…clothes piled to the ceiling waiting to be washed/dried/folded, 2 insane kittens suspended from the curtains, mewing because they can’t climb down, a child and husband asking “What’s for our Valentine’s Day dinner?” and the mama/wife feeling pressured to create something quick and tasty, so that she finally says, “How about I just make our favorite meal and we have Sunday’s king cake for dessert?” to which both husband and child reply, “Sure,”  then, silence, a pause and “Uh, what’s our favorite meal?”  Sigh.
Actually, paneed anything and pasta with marinara is one of my go-to weekday meals.  Everyone in the family loves it  Brett and I love it, and Andrew will eat it with a minimum of complaints.  While not 30-minutes or less quick, the entire meal is usually ready in an hour, and it’s certainly tasty! 

So, after a delicious dinner, a slice or two of king cake, and a DVR’d Fringe, I’d say my Valentine’s Day evening was quite lovely. 

I’d love to know what did you do for Valentine’s Day.  Did you go out with your honey?  Make a romantic dinner for two?  Or, did it play out something like my Valentine’s Day? 

Paneed Round Steak Printable recipe
1 1/2 lbs round steak, cut into serving sizes and tenderized (I use this or you could also use cube steak)

1 cup flour, seasoned with salt and pepper
3 eggs
1 cup milk
2 cups Italian breadcrumbs or Italian panko
1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, finely grated
Salt and pepper to taste
Oil, for pan frying

Set up your breading station:
Pour seasoned flour onto a shallow plate
Combine breadcrumbs and Parmesan on a shallow plate, as well
In a bowl, beat together eggs and milk
Dip the round steak into the flour, egg wash, and then into the breadcrumbs
Place breaded round steak onto a piece of parchment or wax paper, and let rest while oil is heating
Pour oil into frying pan, about 1/4″ deep, over medium-high heat.
Place breaded meat into hot oil and allow to cook until dark golden brown; turn over and continue to cook until golden brown and cooked through.
Allow meat to rest for 10 minutes before serving

Everyday Marinara
28 oz crushed tomatoes
1 large onion, small dice
1 tablespoon grated or finely minced garlic
11/2 teaspoons dried Italian seasoning
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
Salt and pepper to taste
Sugar, optional (add 1-2 tablespoons if you like a sweeter sauce)

Heat extra virgin olive oil over medium high heat; add diced onion and minced garlic.
Cook for 5-8 minutes or until translucent and softened.
Stir in dried Italian seasoning and allow to cook over medium heat for a minute or so.
Add crushed tomatoes, bring to a boil, stir well, and reduce to a simmer for 30 minutes, stirring occasionally.
Taste for seasoning, add salt, pepper and sugar, as desired.
Serve over hot pasta of your choice and dust with grated Parmesan cheese.

Linked to Tuesday Night Supper Club, Hearth & Soul, Dr. Laura’s Tasty Tuesday, Mouthwatering Mondays, Tasty Tuesday, Tuesdays at the Table, Tasty Tuesday, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday

Blogiversary Giveaway Winner is #21 – Congratulations to Sue! 

13 thoughts on “Paneed Round Steak with Everyday Marinara & Angel Hair

  1. Hi Louanne!
    Looks like I popped in just in time. This recipe looks wonderful and I just happen to have an Italian Fest going on over at Seaside Simplicity. Bring over all you Italian goodies old and new for the party!
    Hope all is well in your world, still SO busy over here!

  2. this looks so yummy! we have a similar routine here…but with chicken rather than steak! we go out to dinner for valentine's day..but that is only to give me a break from the kitchen 🙂 that is my gift each year from hubster. thank you for sharing this terrific meal with tuesday night supper club.

  3. That looks like a yummy V-day meal to me! I love cutlets fried like that…never served it with pasta before. Will have to do that next time! I made risotto and sauteed shrimp, and we had a quiet Valentine's at home. I picked up cupcakes and choc-dipped strawberries at my favorite bakery, and Michael surprised me with cheesecake from Cheesecake Factory. Other husbands bring home flowers and cards…mine brings me ginormous shrimp and cheesecake!!

  4. Sadly, valentine's day was just another monday in my house 😦 So much for romance, eh? You're recipe looks really good. I make something similar with pork all the time, but have never used beef. I love the idea. Thanks for sharing with the Hearth and Soul hop.

  5. I'm glad to hear you had a wonderful Valentine's Day, Louanne! What a great meal, I can definitely see why it's a favorite in your house!

  6. Your paneed steak looks mouthwatering Louanne. I didn't do anything, it was same as usual for us here, plus I feel a little under the weather and have a sore throat.

Leave a Reply

