Marinated & Broiled Skirt Steak

In recent months, I’ve noticed that I am unable to find exactly what I want at my regular markets.  Wal-mart is my go-to store for basic pantry and household needs, but I’ve never been overly impressed with either their produce or meat departments.  So, I always bought produce and meat from Winn Dixie, until recently, when I walked in with a large list of various fruits and vegetables, but only walked out with onions and apples.  Everything else was just sub-standard, which led me to Albertsons.  It’s not on my regular route, so I hadn’t actually shopped there intentionally in the past; however, I was quite happy with their choice of beautiful produce, and when I got into the meat department, I was ecstatic, as I found gorgeous trimmed briskets, lovely rib-eyes, and be still my heart – skirt steak!  Visions of fajitas, wraps, and lovely salads danced in my head.  I couldn’t wait to get home to toss the skirt steak into a marinade.  I used a very basic combination of lime juice, olive oil, garlic, and cumin, but with skirt steak, it’s hard to go wrong, unless, of course you overcook it.  Which, I didn’t, I’m happy to say.  I diligently set my timer and turned on the vent, and in less than 15 minutes, we were sitting at the table enjoying my lucky find.  Brett likes his steak wrapped in a warmed flour tortilla.  I went for a slightly healthier approach, tossing my slices into a salad of bibb lettuce and feta cheese.  Heavenly.

Marinated & Broiled Skirt Steak Printable Recipe
1 1/2 lbs skirt steak
4-5 cloves garlic, smashed
Juice of 1/2 lime
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 teaspoon cumin
Salt & Pepper, to taste

Mix marinade ingredients.  Place skirt steak into a ziploc bag, pour marinade over meat, seal bag and massage marinade into meat.  Let meat marinate overnight.
When ready to cook, preheat broiler.
Remove meat from marinade, being sure to remove the pieces of garlic from the meat, and place on broiler pan.
Broil steak for 4-5 minutes on each side, which resulted in medium doneness – the rack was about 6″ from the broiler element
Remove from oven, sprinkle on salt & pepper to taste, and allow meat to rest for 5-7 minutes, before slicing.
Serve with warm flour tortillas, salsa, guacamole, shredded cheese or toss into a salad.

Linked to Whatcha Makin’ Wednesdays, What’s Cooking Wednesdays,

6 thoughts on “Marinated & Broiled Skirt Steak

  1. Dropped by from Miz Helen's Blog. It's a beautiful dish and I will definitely give it a try. I never broiled Steak .. only grilled or bake..

  2. It's definitely hard to find a grocery store that works for you! The ones here are subpar at best. I've never thought to broil skirt steak before but yours looks like it turned out fabulously!

  3. Looks great! We are having fajitas next weekend for our Super Bowl party. I hadn't shopped at Albertson's in 15 years. I ran in for a few items one day recently, and was pleasantly surprised. I now go there when I need special items too. And my kids love the car and butterfly shopping carts with steering wheels! And it's never crowded like Super Target and Super Wal-Mart. I'll get our skirt steaks there for our fajitas. And leftovers on top of a salad sounds wonderful!

Leave a Reply

