Grits & Grillades

On January 25, Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives featured a local restaurant, Louie and the Redhead Lady.  We’ve eaten there a few times, but I can’t speak of the items highlighted, as I’ve only ever ordered the fried catfish.  The restaurant is small, and the wait tends to be longer than Andrew has the patience, so we usually go to a diner that is not only closer to our house, but also has quicker service.  However, one of the items Louie prepared, Grits & Grillades (pronounced gree-odds) has been uppermost in my mind since I watched the episode.  I’ve had shrimp & grits – love!  But, I’ve never had grits and grillades!  I know, I can’t believe it, either, as grits and grillades are the quintessential New Orleans brunch item.  I’ve seen them on countless menus, but never ordered them, as I’m more of an omelette kind of girl.  Anyway, after the episode, I began my research on a recipe for grillades; grits, I’ve got that down to a science, so I needed no recipe.  Recipes abound, and while the seasonings are similar, I chose to go with the version I first found in the archives of the Times Picayune, then again in Cooking Up a Storm
I really enjoyed the comforting flavor that only comes from a roux, tomatoes, and the “holy trinity” (onions, bell peppers, and celery).  This was a wonderful dish, particularly on a cold, rainy night.  The only thing missing was a plate of buttery biscuits!  As I said, grits and grillades are commonly served for brunch, but it’s also a perfect dish to prepare for a cozy Sunday night supper.
Recipes can be found at the end of this post.

I’d like to thank Cassandra of Butter & Oven Mitts for awarding me the Stylish Blogger Award!  I’m truly honored. Of course, what’s great about winning this award is that I get to pass it on to 10 bloggers. 
Congratulations ladies!
Lyndsay – The Kitchen Witch
Lyndsey – The Tiny Skillet
Heather – girlichef
Here is how it works:
– Thank and link back to the person who awarded this to you.
– Share 7 (random) things about yourself.
– Pay it forward to 10 bloggers whom you feel are deserving.
– Contact those bloggers and let them know about their award.
7 Random Facts…
1. I can write backwards, in cursive, from right to left.  Some people doodle, I write backwards.
2. I skipped out on law school orientation to go to a Dwight Yoakam concert in Houston.
3. Winter is my favorite season.
4. I have one sister and one brother – I’m the eldest.
5. I didn’t get married until I was 40.
6. I love cold, rainy days.
7. I am an INTJ.

Click here for the Grits and Grillades recipe. 
Find my version of cheesy grits here.

Linked to Hearth and Soul, Tuesday Night Supper Club, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday, Tuesdays at the Table, Dr. Laura’s Tasty Tuesday, Tasty Tuesdays, Mouthwatering Mondays, Tailgating Time,

18 thoughts on “Grits & Grillades

  1. This looks like a tasty recipe. I never had grits but I am sure, I would love it especially the way you make them sound.

    Congratulations on your award. You certainly deserve it.

  2. You didn't get married until you were 40? I thought you were like 30 right now! You look so young. I love your grits – so comforting and delicious!

  3. Hi Louanne,
    Everything you post is always so delicious!! Thanks for linking up to Tailgating Time and don't forget to join in for the Super Bowl party tomorrow. I will be posting a link to the code within the Tailgating Time post at 11 am tomorrow if you'd like to join us as a host for the big shebang – I hope you will 🙂

  4. this is comfort food at its finest…oh so yummy! would you mind popping a bowl in the mail? thank you for linking up to tuesday night supper club!

  5. This recipe sounds interesting but I actually have no idea what grits are! It's definitely not something to be found in England so I'm doubtful that I'd be able to get my hands on all of the ingredients needed for this :/

    Thanks for sharing it though, if I ever do see what I need (and figure out what grits are lol) then I'll give it a go 🙂

    I'm also taking part in the Hearth & Soul hop and that's how I found your blog.

  6. Louanne, this looks delicious – I could definitely eat this for a cozy, lazy Sunday supper – think I would be struggling with that as brunch food though. I'm definitely a fruit or pastry/toast before midday kind of girl.

    So good to learn a little more about your and Thank You 🙂

    Sue xo

  7. Hi Louanne! I am laughing because the ONLY foodie show my husband will watch with me is driveins diners and dives and he says he wants that guy's job! I am always intrigued by the different regional recipes and breakfasts that are so different! In new england no one would eat beef before noon unless it was corned beef! I will certainly have to try this when visiting NO one of these days! Thanks for sharing this on the hearth and soul hop! All the best! Alex

  8. I have a certain penchant for New Orleans/Creole food possibly since I've never really had the opportunity to eat it. This sounds fantastic!

  9. Louanne, I never knew how much I loved grits until I had them at Emeril's New Orleans Fish House in Las Vegas. Now I know why all you southeners eat them. :o) I actually had shrimp and grits and my mouth still waters whe I think of it. Being a new lover of grits, I know I would devour this dish. Perfect comfort food!

  10. This dish sure does look warm and comforting! Can you believe I'm a southern that's never had grits?! What's wrong with me! I will have to try them with this lovely saucy goodness. Looks so good! Congrats on your award-well deserved. I just love your blog Louanne and all your recipes. It's so nice of you to pass an award on to me…thanks so much!!! We are enjoying a snow day at home and this award made my day even better!

  11. Oh, this sounds so amazing, Louanne! I still need to try the shrimp and grits combo…always meant to, but haven't yet :/ …and THANK YOU! I loved learning a few tidbits about you (although I don't know what that last one means) and am honored that you passed this on to me 🙂 …oh, and thanks so much for linking this delicious dish up to the hearth and soul hop this week, as well! xo

Leave a Reply

