Chicken Noodle Soup

As much as I love soup, you’d think I’d make chicken noodle more than once or twice a year, but, nope.  Chicken soup just doesn’t wow me.  It’s tasty; it’s comforting, and good for what ails you, but, there’s no challenge, I suppose.  I’ve tried to shake it up, making Thai coconut chicken soup, which was heavenly, and I still haven’t posted, but the husband said it was too fancy, which amused me to no end.  Anway, I usually only make chicken soup when the husband is feeling under the weather, like today.  Fairly simple and straightforward, and in this case, rather quick, as I used boneless, skinless breasts, while quick-cooking, they’re also somewhat bland, which means you have pump up the flavor with aromatics and a few cups of robust chicken stock.  My pitiful, streptoccal-ridden husband ate two bowls and croakily declared it “delicious, just what I wanted.”  I was pleasantly pleased as well.  Enjoy!

Chicken Noodle Soup
3 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
1 lb boneless, skinless chicken breast tenders
2 medium onions, diced
3 ribs celery, diced
2 tablespoons garlic, minced
1 cup fresh or frozen corn kernels
6 cups chicken stock
1 teaspoon poultry seasoning
1 bay leaf
2 tablespoons fresh parsley, minced
2 cups medium egg noodles (or more, if you like a more noodley soup)
Salt & pepper to taste

Heat olive oil in a large stock pot.
Add onions, celery, and garlic, cook until vegetables are translucent and beginning to turn golden.
Add chicken tenders, poultry seasoning, and bay leaf, cooking until chicken begins to turn opaque.
Add chicken stock, bring to a boil, reduce to a simmer, cover and cook for 45 minutes.
Remove chicken and shred into large pieces, return to stockpot.
Taste for seasoning; add salt and pepper.
When ready to cook the noodles, bring back to a boil, add noodles and cook until tender.
Stir in parsley before serving.

Linked to Hearth and Soul, Tuesday Night Supper Club, Tuesdays at the Table, Dr. Laura’s Tasty Tuesday, Tasty Tuesdays, Mouthwatering Mondays, Tailgating Time, Wandering Wednesdays, Whatcha Makin’ Wednesdays, What’s Cooking Wednesdays,

16 thoughts on “Chicken Noodle Soup

  1. let me tell you…if my chicken soup looked like this,i would certainly make it more than a few times a year. i want some of this right now! thank you for sharing your fabulous recipe with tuesday night supper club!

  2. Now see, I love the simplicity of chicken soup. Something about chicken soup is like seeing a nice clean house, it's just relaxing. I never do noodles, though, and that picture looks so good. Thanks for sharing with the Hearth and Soul hop.

  3. I am totally with you girl. I'm all about sprucing things up and making new flavor combos. But there are definitely times that I'm in the mood for a classic..and this sounds just perfect!

  4. Too funny Louanne, my husband has had a cold and was whining for chicken soup. I can take or leave chicken soup (but I would love Thai coconut chicken soup!) so I made him buy Campbell's, lol. I know, I'm a terrible wife…. :o)

  5. What a nice soup! Your photos of it are wonderful. If it tastes half as good as it looks you have a real winner on your hands. I hope you have a great day. Blessings…Mary

  6. Louanne, it just so happens that I'm feeling under the weather today as I read your post… *cough, cough* I'd be happy to offer a second opinion on your soup!

    Looks great and thanks for sharing with the hearth and soul hop.

  7. Would you believe that next to Tortilla Soup…chicken noodle is my favorite? It's just the comfort factor, I suppose…but I can't help it 😀 Thanks so much for sharing this with the hearth and soul hop this week, Louanne 🙂

  8. Now you've given me a craving for chicken noodle soup and it's not even cold where I am. I love how chock full of noodles yours is, just how I prefer it.

Leave a Reply

