Spicy Eggplant Curry

Have you heard of Taste & Create?  It’s a community of bloggers who test each others recipes and share links.  Nicole pairs up bloggers, then you visit each other’s site, choose a recipe, prepare it, blog about it, and link to the collection of other wonderful recipes.  The collection of recipes is terrific, so check it out.
My partner was PJ from Seduce Your Tastebuds, and seriously, I couldn’t have been happier.  I love Indian food, and visiting PJ’s site was like a kid’s visit to a candy store!  I had such a difficult time deciding which recipe to make, but when I came across this brinjal curry (eggplant curry), my decision was made.  I’ve made eggplant curry before, but not like this!  I loved the flavors, and I’m always happy to find a new spice, which in this case was asafoetida.  Asafoetida was a totally new spice for me, so I looked it up, and it’s also known as hing, devil’s dung, or stinking gum.  The flavor is somewhat garlicky-oniony, but the smell, well, don’t be put off by it.  Now, asafoetida is not something to be found in a south Louisiana market, but thankfully, there’s Spices Inc!  I ordered just a small amount, 1 oz, as you only need a bit.  However, if you don’t want to order it, you can always just mix a bit of garlic and onion powder to somewhat simulate the taste.

I loved this dish!  The flavors burst in your mouth, and you can make it as spicy as you wish.  I followed PJ’s recipe exactly, with the exception of leaving out the curry leaves, as I couldn’t find them anywhere.  If you’re a lover of Indian food, then click here for PJ’s authentic and delicious recipes.  And if you want to participate in Taste and Create, click here for more information.

12 thoughts on “Spicy Eggplant Curry

  1. Indian food is an absolute favorite of mine and I definitely don't cook it enough! This curry looks wonderful. Need to pick up some eggplants to make it!

  2. I love eggplant and I love curry so I know this dish would become an instant favorite! Taste & Create sounds like so much fun, thanks for sharing the info on it!

  3. Thanks for trying out this recipe from my space and I am glad you liked it 🙂

    If you are looking for ways to use up asafoetida it can be added[just a pinch] to most of the Indian gravies and curries.Its got loads of health benefits,one of them being digestive / prevent flatulence and using it in cooking gives the benefit of health and taste 🙂

  4. Huh! That sounds fun and this dish sounds awesome! I have looked for asefoetida (okay, I'm not going back to see how to actually spell that)…to no avail. One of these days. Great job and I may have to check out that taste and create, thanks 😀

  5. Louanne, I love Indian food too and this looks wonderfully delicious! I've made different curries before but never eggplant. And what a great idea Taste and Create is! Thanks for letting us know about it.

  6. That's a neat idea Taste and Create, I'll have to check it out more. I found asafoetida, and curry leaves in my Aisan market. I have found many recipes to use it in. Your photos are stunning, and I would love this dish!

Leave a Reply

