Sweet & Spicy Salmon

Ok, here’s a little foodie information on me, your hostess, Louanne.  Try as I might, I just can’t say that I like salmon.  I buy it, I get all creative with ingredients, and then I take a bite, and blech.  Fishy, which is to be expected, as it’s fish.  Here’s the conundrum, I love, love, love baccala and seriously, folks, I don’t think there are many things out there that taste and smell like dried, salted cod.  But, here’s the defining point, I grew up eating baccala, and salmon is not anything we regularly ate, unless you count salmon croquettes on the occasional Lenten Friday, which I covered in so much ketchup it was more like eating ketchup with a side of croquettes. 
So, when I saw that Brenda chose Salmon as the January Culinary Smackdown, I figured I’d give salmon another try.  As I mentioned, I get quite creative when it comes to salmon, choosing bold flavors with the hope that this recipe will be the one that turns me into a salmon-lover.  But, alas, it was not the case, which is how my staff ended up eating salmon today.  If you love salmon, you’ll enjoy this.  If you don’t, maybe this is the recipe that’ll turn you into a salmon fan.  In the meantime, I’m still on the hunt for the elusive salmon recipe…

Sweet & Spicy Salmon Printable recipe
1 lb salmon filets
1/3 cup melted hot pepper jelly, cooled slightly
2 tablespoons brown sugar
1 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
Salt to taste
Lime wedges

Preheat broiler and line pan with foil.
Melt pepper jelly and allow to cool slightly.
Combine brown sugar, cumin and ground coriander.
Brush melted hot pepper jelly onto filets.
Divide the brown sugar mixture over each filet.
Place under broiler for about 8 minutes, allow fish to rest for 10 minutes before serving.
Serve with lime wedges and salt to taste.

Linked to January’s Culinary Smackdown, Frugal Fridays

14 thoughts on “Sweet & Spicy Salmon

  1. Funny how the tastes of our childhoods shape our palates – some flavours we don't like as children we grow into, and other things stay with us forever. I totally love salmon, and I love the look of this version – I wish I was one of your staff members that got to eat this – any jobs going?
    Sue xo

  2. I love salmon! Especially with sweet and spicy flavors – they seem to work best with it. You're a trooper for giving it a try.

  3. You have such a lovely blog! I'm having such a nice time scrolling through, reading your posts. You have some wonderful recipes and splendid photos too!
    Cheers, Catherine~

  4. I've never heard of baccala! I am a huge fan of salmon..alot of people I know aren't fans of it either. But maybe this recipe would convert them! 🙂

    p.s. I am sending out your goodies for the Steph Chows cookie swap this Friday. I am a few days late, but just wanted to give you a heads up!

  5. I have to google so as to find baccala. I have no idea what it is, but this salmon looks so juicy and the sauce I can imagine how tasty it is.

  6. Oh no, sorry this recipe wasn't the one for you! I love salmon though, so this is right up my alley…the sweet/savory combo works so well for this fish!

  7. I love salmon and your recipe sounds like a good way to prepare it. As for my family and I, our go-to salmon recipe is misoyaki salmon where we cook it in a sauce made of miso, ginger, rice vinegar, sugar, and mirin. If you'd like the recipe, just let me know. As a matter of fact, that's what I had for dinner tonight.

  8. Oh my gosh Louanne, and I thought my husband and his mother were the only people that liked baccala. LOL! I am not a fan of baccala (I have trouble even typing it, I dislike it that much), but salmon…..I have never had any salmon I didn't like. It's by far my favourite fish. And spicy salmon sounds to die for. I'm sorry you're not a salmon fan but very happy you submitted this wonderful dish to the culinary smackdown. Good luck!

Leave a Reply

