Chocolate Chewies

I’ve been in a bit of cooking slump since the end of Christmas.  In fact, I even told my husband that I thought I had lost my culinary mojo.  He gave me a hug and suggested that I browse through the infinite collection of cookbooks that I have, including the new ones he gave me for Christmas, and perhaps I’d get some inspiration.  Well, he was right, of course.  As soon as I began flipping through the pages, those neurons began firing, and I began jotting down ideas.  Additionally, I came across quite a few recipes that I wanted to try, one of which is today’s post. 
The recipe is from Cooking Up a Storm: Recipes Lost and Found from the Times-Picayune of New Orleans.  Here’s the description:

After Hurricane Katrina devastated New Orleans, thousands of people lost their keepsakes and family treasures forever. As residents started to rebuild their lives, The Times-Picayune of New Orleans became a post-hurricane swapping place for old recipes that were washed away in the storm. The newspaper has compiled 250 of these delicious authentic recipes along with the stories about how they came to be and who created them. Cooking Up a Storm includes the very best of classic and contemporary New Orleans cuisine from seafood and meat to desserts and cocktails. But it also tells the story recipe by recipe of one of the great food cities in the world and the determination of its citizens to preserve and safeguard their culinary legacy.
If you are a fan of south Louisiana food, this is a wonderful cookbook to add to your collection.  No pictures, I’m sorry to say, but the recipes are top-notch. Judy Walker and Marcelle Bienvenu are the editors; Judy is the food editor for the Times-Picayune, and Marcelle is an accomplished cookbook author, food columnist, and cooking teacher.
As I said, today’s recipe is from Cooking Up a Storm, and I think it is probably one of the shortest recipes I’ve ever used, but yields an incredibly delicious little bite of heaven! The cookie is quite light, full of chocolate flavor, and wonderfully chewy. I made these to send to a fellow blooger, Cassie of a pinch of this and a dash of that, with whom I was paired in a cookie exchange hosted by Steph of stephchows. I hope you like them, Cassie!
Chocolate Chewies Printable recipe
Recipe adapted from Cooking Up a Storm
3 cups powdered sugar
1/3 cup cocoa
2 tablespoons flour
3 large egg whites
1-2 cups pecans, toasted and chopped
Line a cookie sheet with parchment and set aside.
In a large bowl, whisk powdered sugar, cocoa, and flour together.
With an electric mixer, beat in the egg whites, one by one on low speed.
Then, beat batter on high for 2 minutes.
Fold in pecans.

Using a small cookie scoop, portion cookie dough onto prepared pan, about 1 1/2″ apart.
Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes.
Allow cookies to cool completely before removing from parchment paper.
Store in a sealed container.

10 thoughts on “Chocolate Chewies

  1. All it takes is a good flip through my cookbooks to get me motivated as well! So much to cook and so little time! These cookies sound delicious. Love that texture.

  2. I hope all is well with you, Louanne! Your hubby sounds so sweet and thoughtful — and I'm glad he was right! 🙂 The cookies look divine!

Leave a Reply

