Spicy Smothered Cabbage

First, let me say thank you for all of your kind and concerned comments regarding my finger.  It’s still swollen, and I can’t really hold a knife, but the bandages are off, and the antibiotics kicked in, so I feel almost 100% me again – yeah!  I’m just so happy to be back blogging and somewhat functional in the kitchen – the husband took pity on me and not only peeled garlic cloves and cut up a cabbage for me, but also went to the store and bought bags of frozen chopped onions and seasoning mix.  While I normally just chop everything myself, these are working out great.
I also want to apologize for not visiting all of you – my google reader has over 800 feeds calling my name, and I am eager to read all of them.  I can’t wait to see what all of you have been cooking!
Now, on to the recipe.  I grew up eating cabbage prepared in three ways – smothered, fried, and as cole slaw – with fried being my favorite, of course, because, well, it’s fried.  Smothered was ok, but my mom used way too much water so the cabbage was soupy and overcooked, so her version was never my favorite, and I, of course, tweaked it to my personal preferences, adding apples, carraway seeds, and caramelizing not only the onions, but the cabbage, too.  Today’s version is also a tweak of both my mother and sister’s newest smothered cabbage, although my rendition is meatless.  I used Rotel tomatoes, but if you’d prefer no heat, you can certainly just use plain tomatoes, and if you want a spicier version, add more chilies.  As I said, my version is meatless, but my sister uses tasso, ham, and bacon, so if you’d like to add meat, go right ahead and add it along with the onions.

Spicy Smothered Cabbage Printable recipe
1 large head of cabbage, rinsed, cored and chopped into 2″ pieces
12 oz of chopped onions
1 tablespoon garlic, finely minced
2-3 potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks
1 can Rotel tomatoes, drained, with juice reserved
3-4 tablespoons vegetable oil
Salt & pepper, to taste

Heat oil in large saucepan.
Add onions, garlic, and potato, cooking until onions are translucent.
Place entire chopped cabbage into saucepan and cover; allow to cook for 2-3 minutes, until cabbage wilts and you are able to stir the contents together.
Stir in drained Rotel tomatoes along with 1/4 cup of the reserved juice, and allow to cook over medium heat for another 15-20 minutes, or until cabbage is tender and liquid has evaporated.
Increase heat to medium high, and cook, uncovered, until cabbage and potatoes caramelize.
Taste for seasoning, adding salt and pepper as desired.

Linked to Dr. Laura’s Tasty Tuesday, Tuesday Night Supper Club, Tuesdays at the Table, Hearth and Soul, Tempt My Tummy Tuesday

12 thoughts on “Spicy Smothered Cabbage

  1. My gosh, I love cabbage and this sounds almost good enough to be a meal in itself. I will most certainly be giving this a try. I'm also trying to catch up with all my blog reading, having taken a break over the holidays to concentrate on family. I'm glad I was able to look over your recipes that I had missed because I would hate to have missed this one.

  2. Hi Lou Lou! I am a boo boo finger sister to you! A few weeks ago I smashed my hand in a table leaf and it really was so difficult to blog and cook and even wash your hair with a bad hand injury! So glad you are starting to heal up and will be back to your normal happy self really soon! As for this recipe, you are SOOOO talking my language! I adore cabbage cooked in all its sweetness. I like it with bacon too, but your version seems more delicate and I like the idea of the spice! Nothing better for the winter months! I have a head of cabbage in my fridge and I will be bookmarking this to try soon! Thanks for sharing with us on the hearth and soul hop this week! All the best, Alex

  3. I am glad your finger is getting better. This cabbage looks so soft and mouthwatering. It is great to get help from your husband now that your finger doesn't let you do what you normally do.

  4. I'm glad to hear you're feeling better, Louanne! I don't think I've ever had cabbage like this and I can tell I've been missing out…it looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

