Marinated Cream Cheese

Christmas is 10 days away.  10???  Yep, 10.  How this can be, I do not know.  Perhaps there’s a time warp that occurs once the time changes?  All I do know is that I am feeling somewhat pressured to “get it all done” and I do not like it one bit.  Maybe I’ve planned better in years past?  There are still cookies to bake and decorations to complete; at least I’ve completed the menu for my husband’s family party this weekend and the Christmas celebration with my family.  Saturday’s party is an appetizer potluck at our house, and I’m making mini muffalettas, a layered dip, and a simple dessert.  For my family’s Christmas celebration which is actually scheduled for the 28th, we’re having bbq shrimp, lasagna, Italian sausage, stuffed artichokes, and for an appetizer, this quick, festive, and addictive marinated cheese.  Everytime I make this for a party, people go nuts, dipping slices of French bread into the marinade and spreading on cheese while shooting me appreciative glances and thumbs up with their free hand.  It’s that good.  The marinade is awesome as a dressing for lettuce or pasta.  The colors are absolutely gorgeous and perfect for the season.  If you’re still looking for a “wow” dish, give this a try.

Marinated Cream Cheese (Printable recipe)
3 8-oz blocks cream cheese
½ cup extra virgin olive oil
½ cup white wine or rice wine vinegar
¼ cup green onions, finely sliced
¼ cup parsley, finely minced
4 oz jar diced pimentos, drained
1 tablespoon garlic, grated or finely minced
3 teaspoons sugar
½ teaspoon dried basil
½ teaspoon salt
½ teaspoon black pepper

Slice cream cheese into thirds, lengthwise.
Arrange in rimmed platter.
Combine all other ingredients, mix well and pour onto cream cheese.
Cover & refrigerate overnight.
Serve with sliced French bread or crackers.

Linked to Merry, Merry Munchies, Wandering Wednesday, What’s Cooking Wednesday, Holly Bloggy Christmas Recipe Party, Thursday Friends Cafe Blog Hop, Thirsty Thursday, Thrilling Thursday , Beckham & Bloom, Follow Friday 40 & Over, Feature Yourself Friday, Grocery Cart Challenge Recipe Swap, Family Friendly Fridays, Friday Potluck, Show & Tell Fridays, Saturday Swap, Recipe of the Week: Appetizers

17 thoughts on “Marinated Cream Cheese

  1. MMMMM! Num, num, num! I'm totally thinking I'm just doing dipping and spreading things this year for holiday food…this one being top on the list. I'm drooling 😉

  2. What a wonderful appetizer! It sure is beautiful and impressive…I think I'm going to do a little rearranging of our Christmas Eve menu to include it! 🙂

  3. I've already printed that Louanne. It looks like a great appetizer, no wonder why everyone who tries it gives it a big 10. Thanks for the e-mail, because I was beginning to seriously worry about the fate of these books. I hope you will both enjoy them. Lots of love from Athens.

  4. I'm looking for something different and fun to take to my family's Christmas Eve party…NEXT week. Gah! I feel the crunch too…seems like it was JUST Halloween! Saving this one…I imagine it's good for football-watching parties too!

Leave a Reply

