A Birthday, A Cake, and a Spicy Spinach Appetizer

Today is Andrew’s 6th birthday! Everyone says it, and it’s so true, but I’ve no idea where the time has gone. It seems like we just brought him home from the hospital. How is he in Kindergarten? So, because I’ve got a list with more things to do than hours to do them, I’ve got a flyby post today.  A recipe for a quick, yet easy spinach appetizer, as well as some pictures of my boy as a baby and his Pac-man birthday cake from Sunday’s party.  Enjoy!
+

Spicy Spinach Squares Printable recipe
2 10-oz boxes frozen chopped spinach, thawed & squeeze-dried
1 lb pepper jack cheese, shredded
1 cup flour
1 cup milk
3 large eggs
2 tablespoons garlic, finely minced
1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 small jar diced pimentos
2 tablespoons butter, melted

Preheat oven to 350 degrees
Pour butter into a 13×9 pan and set aside.
Combine all other ingredients in a large bowl, with an electric mixer, beat until well-combined.
Pour into prepared pan.
Bake for 45 minutes or until a tester inserted comes out clean.
Allow to cool before cutting into squares.

16 thoughts on “A Birthday, A Cake, and a Spicy Spinach Appetizer

  1. Happy Birthday to Andrew! He's such a cutie with those big, beautiful eyes. The pacman cake is adorable too! And the spinach squares look incredibly delicious.

  2. That cake is super cool! Did you make it yourself? Happy birthday to your little man. It really is amazing how fast it goes!

    Those spinach squares look delicious! I love how you've put it into a cooked bar; nice and easy to eat!

  3. Hi Louanne! Happy birthday to your baby! As a mom who's first baby is getting ready to go to college, yep, it does go wicked fast! I love the pac man cake! How creative! I also really like these spinach bars because they remind me of spanikopita, a family favorite! Thanks for sharing this on the hearth and soul hop this week! All the best! Alex

  4. Aww happy birthday to your so! He is adorable. (Although he's probably at the age where he would cringe that I said that!) Those spinach squares look SOOOO good. The perfect appetizer.

  5. Those spinach squares look so good. I really like an appetizer than can be cut into portions. It's so much easier to pick up and eat while visiting. I love the Pac Man cake. That's awesome! It was my favorite game when I was a kid. Happy Birthday to your baby boy. Time does fly!

  6. What a delicious looking appetizer! And with all that spinach, good for you too. Happy Birthday to your sweet boy – the cake is awesome! :o)

  7. Ohmygoodness! Those spinach squares sound awesome…another recipe added to the pile. Oi. And I must say, I LOVE Andrew's cake…I want it for my own—very cool 😉 You're so right…even though we always say it, it never ceases to be true—time flies!! Happy Birthday to your baby 😀 Thank you for sharing this w/ the hearth and soul hop this week, Louanne!

Leave a Reply

