Nut Brittle & a Wedding Anniversary!

Seven years ago today, I married my soul mate.  Brett is the most loving, kindest, and supportive man I’ve ever known, which is only three of the reasons that I married him.  Corny as it sounds, he really does complete the person I am.  I’ve included 3 pictures, one of which was taken after the money dance – it’s one of Brett’s favorite pictures.  Ok, enough mushy, on to the recipe for the easiest, tastiest, and fastest brittle ever!
Everyone needs a quick, easy, and best of all, microwavable dessert in their repertoire. Today’s recipe gets high marks in all three categories. Additionally, it’s delicious! I’ve always been a fan of nut brittles; I just love the crunchiness and buttery flavor which results when sugar is cooked. However, I do know that cooking sugar on the stovetop is very intimidating to many people, and rightfully so, as a burn from a molten drop of sugar is awful. But, today, we are using the microwave, and it couldn’t be easier. This is an adaptation of a Martha Stewart recipe. I’ve added a smidge more salt and vanilla, as well as increasing the microwave time by 30 seconds. Not huge changes, but the change in the outcome of the candy is significant. So, if you’re looking for a quick recipe that ships wells and is impressive, give this a whirl!

Nut Brittle Printable recipe
1 1/2 cups sugar
1/2 cup corn syrup
1 teaspoon salt
1 1/2 cups salted nuts (use your favorite combination, just make sure they are roasted & salted)
2 tablespoons unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1/4 teaspoon baking soda
2 teaspoons vanilla

Line a cookie sheet or large baking pan with parchment paper. Alternatively, you can also butter the baking pan.
Combine sugar, corn syrup, and salt in a 2 quart measure – be sure you use something with a handle. I used a Pyrex 2 quart measuring bowl.
Stir mixture until sugar is fully moistened.
Place in microwave, uncovered, and microwave on full power for 4 minutes (My microwave is 1100 watts)
Remove from microwave, add butter pieces stirring until butter melts.
Add nuts and stir to fully coat with sugar mixture.
Return to microwave, and cook on full-power for 5 minutes, 30 seconds.
Remove from microwave and stir in vanilla.
Add baking soda – mixture will foam up a bit.
Stir until well-mixed and pour onto prepared pan.
Allow to cool for 30 minutes before breaking into pieces.
Yield: 1 1/2 lbs
If you need more than the yield, make another batch – do not double the recipe.

10 thoughts on “Nut Brittle & a Wedding Anniversary!

  1. You look so beautiful Louanne! And so incredibly happy. Happy Belated Anniversary! I love your easy nut brittle! I will definitely give it a try!

  2. Mmmm, I just left a comment, but somehow I think it got lost. Anyway, your brittle looks beautiful, and I love the idea of making it in the microwave.

    Happy anniversary and thanks for sharing your lovely wedding photos with us 🙂

    Sue

  3. Happy Anniversary, Louanne! You and your husband are a beautiful couple! You are soooo in love and this is beautiful! Hope the day's extra special!!

    I'm happy our blogs found each other! You've got a really nice blog, super recipes (I'm drooling from just looking at the brittle!)

  4. @Thanks, Joanne! I know, microwavable desserts are seriously dangerous – especially this one, easy to make, and very easy to eat!

    @Aww, thanks Heather! This is such a buttery flavored brittle, too!

    @Faith, thank you! Brittle is a favorite of my mom, too, and she really likes this version.

    @Thank you, Andie, for your sweet comments! Can't wait for you to see the Christmas card with your photos!

    @Many thanks, Katerina. It was one of my happiest days, ever!

  5. Wedding pictures are the best. So much pure happiness in your faces. I hope you will be like that when you look each other even after many many years. This sweet apart from looking tasty is very interesting as it sounds very easy as well.

  6. I've seen you two together and the love just radiates from you guys. You are the sweetest family, through and through.

    Happy Anniversary! 🙂

  7. Awww, how sweet, Louanne! Your wedding pictures are stunning…hope you and your hubby have an amazing anniversary!

    The nut brittle looks fantastic, it's one of my mom's favorite candies so I think I might surprise her with it!

  8. Wedding pictures always make me tear up a bit- you look absolutely gorgeous!! Congrats to the two of you, Happy Anniversary 😀 And ummm, yeah! The brittle looks fantastic! I LOOOOOVE mixed nut brittles. Bookmarked!

  9. Aww mega congrats babe! I'm so happy for you! You look gorgeous in those pictures and I love the shot after the money dance as well. Raw happiness.

    I could totally use a microwave dessert. Although it seems kind of dangerous because then I could make it…any time. Hmmm.

Leave a Reply

