Pecan Custard Squares

We’ve worked on decorating the Christmas tree since Sunday.  First, 3/4 of the lights refused to work, so the husband went about testing each light with a little light-tester gadget.  The problem was never identified, so we strung numerous strands of lights over the non-working lights.  Our tree is one of those pre-lit trees, and the lights are attached to the limbs.  Anyway, after that debacle, we weren’t in the mood to decorate. On Monday and Tuesday, we did a bit here and there, and finally, on Wednesday, we finished!  With the tree in place, it really feels like Christmas, and one of the first things I do when I arrive home, is turn on the lights.  I love a brightly lit tree.  Anyway, after we finished decorating, I decided to bake something for my 12 weeks of Christmas Cookies submission.  I had planned to make my Christmas amaretti cookies, but I’m still waiting for my powdered food coloring to arrive, so those were put on the list for next week.  The office cookie swap is Tuesday, and I have something special planned for that, which I’ll share with all of you next week.  Feeling somewhat uninspired, I decided to just look around the pantry for some inspiration.  First, I saw the last giant Symphony bar and decided to use it in whatever I made.  Then, I saw a can of condensed milk.  Ok, this was getting interesting.  When I spied the bag of Heath brickle chips, I made my decision.  I’d layer everything together on a shortbread-like crust and hope for the best.  I mean, is it possible that sweetened condensed milk & chocolate will taste bad?  Not a chance.  So, I baked my inspired little layer dessert, waited for the pan to cool, and then cut a square for the husband.  When the husband gave me a little eye roll and an appreciative murmur, I knew I had a winner.  I left 6 squares for the husband, and took the rest of the squares to work, as at this point, they still had no working name, except for “some pecan things I threw together” that I’d answered when someone at work asked what they were.  After much deliberation, discussion of texture, and bandying about of suggestions, we all agreed upon a name.  And, now, I give you Pecan Custard Squares.  

Pecan Custard Squares Printable recipe
2 cups flour
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 cup unsalted butter, softened
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 large egg
1 can sweetened condensed milk
6.8 oz Symphony Bar, chopped or 1 cup chocolate chips
1 bag Heath brickle bits
1 cup pecans or almonds, toasted & chopped
2 teaspoons vanilla

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Butter and line a 13×9 baking pan with parchment paper, so that the paper extends over the long side of the pan.
Whisk flour, powdered sugar, and salt together.
Using a pastry cutter or with your mixer, cut butter into flour, until mixture is crumbly.
Press mixture into prepared pan.
Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes, them remove from oven.
While crust is baking, prepare filling.
In a large bowl, combine egg, condensed milk, Symphony bar or chocolate chips, bag of brickle chips, nuts, and vanilla.  Beat together for 3 minutes.
Pour filling over crust.
Bake at 350 degrees for 35-40 minutes.
Allow to cool completely before lifting out of pan.

Peel off parchment, and cut into squares.
25 thoughts on “Pecan Custard Squares

  1. Hi LouAnne Sweetie…
    What a wonderful share. As my folks have pecan orchards I always have more than my share of pecans for the holidays and these look so wonderful. I can't wait to try them. I was looking for some delightful recipes for the New Years Eve party and you just provided a delightful one at that.

    I am Country Wings in Phoenix, and I found you today while blog hopping. I can't wait to see what else you have to share along the way. I hope you have a few Sugar Free diabetic recipes as well. Please stop by and say hello. I would be so honored to have you follow my blog as well. I love meeting new friends and sharing along the way.

    Many hugs to you new friend, Sherry

  2. Those bars look absolutely scrumptious!

    Thanks for linking up for Friday Favorites last week. Hope to see you again this week. Also, I'd like to invite you to come by next Thursday for my Holly Bloggy Christmas Recipe Party!

  3. When I saw these I said out loud…OH,WOW!! so loud my husband came over to the computer to see what I was looking at! He agreed they look so yummy it's crazy!! I'm keeping this recipe!!

  4. Your pecan squares look absolutely delicious. They'd be perfect for holiday entertaining. I hope you are having a great day. Blessings…Mary

  5. Wow, wow, WOW! These cookies look seriously decadent! I'm not sure I could stop at just one. What a deliciously rich and wonderful thing you've created!

    And yay! For getting your tree up! We have the decoration boxes down but that's as far as we've gotten. I guess I need to get on it!

  6. Don't you hate it when the lights do that? So frustrating! Thanks for linking up with us for Thursday's Friends Cafe. Love that you joined us! I am your newest follower!

  7. You are such a creative baker, Louanne! You certainly whipped up a winner! They look fantastic! Glad you finally got your tree up:)

  8. Now I'm curious to see your Christmas tree! I think you should post a picture!!!
    Your bar is yummy! And you're right, condensed milk and chocolate never turn in a bad thing, you'll allways be sucessful!

  9. Our tree still isn't up, it's going up this weekend and I do the same thing as you – the second I get home I turn on the tree. I just love the glow from the lights. Your squares sound seriously amazing Louanne. You always come up with the best recipes!! Have a great weekend!

  10. These sound absolutely rich and wonderfully delicious. I especially love that you added in the Symphony bar and the brickle bits. By the way, I made your festive oat bars for my post this week and they were excellent. Hope you don't mind that I did a repeat of your recipe.

  11. With name or no name these little squares look perfect. I wouldn't mind so much finding a name as much as trying to eat as many as possible.

Leave a Reply

