Gingerbread

Gingerbread wasn’t a regular part of our holiday repertoire, which is odd, as my mother says it’s a favorite of hers.  We had it on occasion, though, and I’ve always loved it, as I do all spice cakes.  I’m particularly fond of the combination of cinnamon, ginger, and cloves, although I’m surprised that the recipe I have uses more cinnamon than ginger.  I felt like I wanted to pump up the ginger flavor, so I added 2 teaspoons of crystallized ginger that I pulverized in the food processor.  Additionally, the recipe I have, calls for cane syrup rather than molasses, but I prefer the flavor of molasses, which is what I used.
Now, I know that cream cheese frosting is not typical; however, is there any reason to not use cream cheese icing?  Not that I can think of, as I think it’s good on anything.  Also, I know pecans aren’t typical either, but as I have pounds and pounds of pecans in my freezer, I’ve been using them in everything.  I toasted the pecans, and I love their super crunchiness juxtaposed with the creamy frosting and moist cake.  Click here for the recipe

Linked to Tuesdays at the Table, Tasty Tuesday, Tuesday Night Supper Club, Hearth & Soul, Dr. Laura’s Tasty Tuesday

17 thoughts on “Gingerbread

  1. i love your interview…just perfect! i am a gingerbread freak! i love your idea to pulverize the ginger…it is a great flavor surprise. thank you for linking up to tuesday night supper club!

  2. I just loved your radio interview – I feel like I “know you” a bit more. You are great fun – not at all loud and goofy! I love the “little bit of an accent” that you have. (and I am so now going to have to make meatballs – we just don't have them because I hate packaged ones)
    I am excited to try your gingerbread – you pulled me in with the cream cheese frosting.
    And I am THRILLED you linked this to the Hearth and Soul Hop!!

  3. I just spent the last 40 minutes listening to your interview Louanne. I loved seeing your personality. You're so fun and down to earth – I wish I lived nearby so we could be bff's!

    I love gingerbread too and seeing it paired with cream cheese frosting really makes me happy!

    I read garden spells too – it's one of my favorites and the other book you mentioned is on my wish list. Thanks for the shout-out too!

  4. I love gingerbread, and I like the molasses too. I have a recipe for molasses gingerbread cookies (one of my regular ChriStmas cookies)that calls for crystallized ginger ground like that, but I always leave some pieces a little bigger to get that bite! Mmmm…I want a bite of this right now!!

  5. The radio interview sounds like great fun. When I first looked at the photo of the gingerbread, I thought that was whipped cream, only to find it is in fact my favorite….cream cheese frosting. I love gingerbread, I can't wait to make this, thanks so much.

  6. What a unique idea to pulverize the crystallized ginger as a way to pump up the flavor. I love your creative thinking and this gingerbread looks oh so yummy. Congrats on your radio interview too. You rock!

Leave a Reply

