12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies…Pecan Strips

I first mentioned these cookies 2 weeks ago, and I meant to post about them last Friday, but my order of pecans had not yet arrived.  Low and behold, the pecans arrived Friday afternoon, and I’ve been going pecan crazy ever since!  So, pecan strips were a cookie my mother-in-law made every Christmas season.  Thankfully, the recipe was included in a binder of her recipes that either my sister-in-law or father-in-law compiled.  If you recall, the filling for my cuccidati is based upon her recipe.  Being the pecan fanatic that I am, these cookies are a big favorite of mine.  The texture is soft and chewy, with gorgeous crackly tops.  The flavor only improve over time, and they are the perfect cookie to ship.  So, without further adieu, pecan strips!

Pecan Strips Printable recipe
2 cups all-purpose flour
1/2 cup self-rising flour
1/8 teaspoon salt
1 lb powdered sugar
4 large eggs
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 1/2 teaspoons almond extract
3 cups pecans, toasted and coarsely chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
You’ll need a piece of parchment as well as a large baking sheet for these cookies; I use a half sheet pan, but if you don’t have anything that large, divide the dough between two smaller pans.
Whisk together the flours and powdered sugar in a small bowl; set aside.
In a large bowl, beat together the eggs with the vanilla and almond extracts for 2-3 minutes.
Add the flour-powdered sugar mixture to the eggs, along with the pecans.
Mix together until pecans are well-incorporated.
Pour a little bit of water onto the baking sheet, tilting the pan until the pan is wet.  Pour excess water down the drain.
Pat the piece of parchment onto the damp pan.
Wet your hands, and dampen the parchment paper.
Wet your hands again, and place the dough onto the damp parchment.
Using the same bowl, pour in some water.
Pat the dough into a rectangle, immersing your hands into the water to help the process.
The dough is very stiff and sticky, so this is not a quick process; just keep patting.
Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes.
Allow to cool completely before inverting onto a rack and slicing into strips of desired size.
Cut into slices to serve.

9 thoughts on “12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies…Pecan Strips

  1. Every time I think I've seen you post the best cookie ever, you post yet another fabulous recipe! Is it bad that I want to make them all, lol? 🙂

  2. Hmm, you say that the flavor improves over time, but you probably mean more than the ten minutes or so that these would last around my family! I will have to try these out 🙂

  3. I love these cookies, they are so different from the usual ones. You give us so many tasty alternatives, honestly I don't know which one to choose.

Leave a Reply

