Nutty Chocolate Cranberry Clusters

So, I promised you a cookie recipe from my mother-in-law for the 8th week of 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies.  I’m sorry to say that you’ll have to wait until next week, as the pecans I ordered have not arrived – they are expected tomorrow – so I had to use next week’s recipe this week.  Confused?  Yes, me too.  Anyway, I don’t think you’ll be disappointed, because this is one awesome addition to your cookie tray, even though it’s not a cookie.  But, who’s going to say no to chocolate?  Even my husband, the not-so-fond of chocolate guy, loves these.  I found this recipe in the Christmas with Southern Living 2006.  It’s a favorite Christmas recipe for a number of reasons:

  • It’s virtually foolproof, no candy thermometer needed
  • You make it in the slow cooker!
  • The recipe makes tons and tons of candy.
  • Versatility – add whatever you like!
  • Everyone loves to receive a bag. 
Usually, I package at least 12 to a bag, sometimes 18.  It really depends upon the size.  For whatever reason, I always seem to make these late in the day, and I’m scooping chocolate onto parchment paper late into the night – then I have to wait for them to set.  You can always tell how tired I am by the size of the candies.  This is one of those “make it your own” recipes – vary the nuts, add pretzels or small cookies, go crazy and have fun!

Nutty Chocolate Cranberry Clusters Printable recipe
3-9.75 oz cans deluxe mixed nuts
2 cups pecans or walnuts, toasted
1 cup dried cranberries or other dried fruit (dried blueberries are wonderful)
36-oz chocolate bark squares, coarsely chopped
12-oz bag bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate morsels
4-oz unsweetened chocolate squares, coarsely chopped
1 tablespoon shortening
1 teaspoon vanilla

Combine the first 8 ingredients in a slow cooker.
Cover and cook on low for 2 hours, or until chocolate has melted.
Stir in vanilla.
Drop heaping teaspoons onto parchment paper.
Let stand until set, about 2 hours.
Store in a covered container.

Linked to Homemade Holidays Recipe Swap, Family Friendly Fridays, Friday Potluck, Friday Favorites, Grocery Cart Challenge Recipe Swap, Feature Yourself Friday, Foodie Friday, I’m Lovin’ It

12 thoughts on “Nutty Chocolate Cranberry Clusters

  1. Saving this recipe too; they look so good. I love to make goodies to send home with my kids when they come to visit and this is a keeper.

  2. Looks delicious!!! I FINALLY got your button up on my sponsors. So sorry that it took so long. Thanks so much for the opportunity to ad swap with you.

    ~Lori @ Paisley Passions

  3. I don't know about your mother-in-law's cookies but these little cuties are easy and look super delicious. Thank you Louanne for your beautiful comment on my blog. I appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

