Sweet Potato Pie

So, Louisiana sweet potatoes are in every market, and I am one happy girl!  I just love sweet potatoes – baked, especially, they are like candy.  Did you know that Louisiana sweet potatoes are different from the sweet potatoes grown in the northern states?  Yep, it’s true.  Louisiana sweet potatoes, or yams, as they are called, are higher in natural sugar, moister, and have beautiful bright orange flesh.  There are many things about Louisiana that I wish were different, but our sweet potatoes are just perfect the way they are.  Anyway, I bought a few pounds on Thursday and tossed them in the oven to bake.  My kitchen smelled wonderfully sweet and very fallish.  This morning, I scooped out that deliciously orange flesh, added some choice ingredients and pulled out my immersion blender.  After a few minutes, I had a bowl of silken sweet potato filling, just waiting to be poured into an all-butter pie crust.  Because I like to make an attempt at artful pie decorations, I cut a few pie crust leaves and tried to recreate a sweet potato vine. 
Along with my somewhat pitiful attempt at decorating, you’ll notice there’s a chunk of pie missing – I had placed a piece of foil on top to prevent the crust from over-browning, and when I removed the foil, a pieces of pie came along for the ride.  I really need to buy one of those pie crust shields.  Anyway, I wanted to share my recipe with all of you, just in case you were looking for something familiar, yet different, to serve on your Thanksgiving dessert table. 
Sweet Potato Pie Printable recipe

3 lbs sweet potatoes, baked and pureed
2 large eggs
2/3 cup light brown sugar, packed
1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup orange juice
1/4 cup heavy cream
1 teaspoon cinnamon
1/8 teaspoon cardamom
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 9″ unbaked pie crust (I made my own (click here for the recipe), use your favorite recipe or frozen will work just fine)

Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
Combine all ingredients and mix together until smooth and creamy.
Pour mixture into unbaked pie crust.
Bake at 450 degrees for 15 minutes; lower temperature to 325 degrees and bake for 60 minutes, or until a tester inserted in middle of pie comes out clean.
If pie crust begins to brown too quickly, loosely cover with a piece of foil.
Allow to cool to room temp before serving; store leftovers in refrigerator.

5 thoughts on “Sweet Potato Pie

  1. Your pie looks scrumptious Louanne! Especially made with those special potatoes! The little vine you made is pretty. This year I really want to make one for the holidays – I didn't last year and really missed it.

  2. Louanne, I thought the chunk missing was where your husband or son had a bite, lol! I learned something new today about sweet potatoes too, I had no idea. Your pie looks so good, I just need a bit of whipped cream on top (love love love whipped cream). And good job with the decorating!

  3. That is a beautiful pie. I didn't know that Luisiana's potatoes are different from the others. I am sure then that this pie is as unique as the potatoes from which it was made.

Leave a Reply

