Fruitcake Cookies

I love fruitcake, and I can’t wait to share my recipe with you, but for today, we have the next best thing, fruitcake cookies.  Now, I know there are diehard fruitcake haters out there, but these are adorable, sweet little cookies, and they are delicious.  Remember the selective eater than I’m married to?  Well, guess what, he just 3 of these, three, people, three!!!  So, there you go.  These are good cookies.  The recipe comes from Ina Garten’s Barefood Contessa at Home cookbook.  I made these last year, but found them a little too boozy, so I’ve added a few extra flavors; for Ina’s actual recipe, click here.

Fruitcake Cookies Printable recipe
1/2 lb candied fruit (I used King Arthur’s European Mixed Peel)
1/4 lb Craisins
1/4 lb glace cherries
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons dry sherry
2 tablespoons orange marmalade
1 tablespoon pineapple preserves
1 tablespoon orange juice
1 1/4 cup walnuts, chopped
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon cloves
2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup light brown sugar, packed
1 jumbo egg
2 2/3 cups flour
1/4 teaspoon salt

Mix the honey, sherry, marmalade, preserves, and orange juice together in a large bowl. 
Add the candied fruit, Craisins, and cherries.  Stir to coat, cover and allow to sit overnight, at room temperature.
When ready to mix the dough (next day), combine butter, cinnamon, cloves, and both sugars in a large bowl.  Beat together for 3 minutes.
Add egg and mix until incorporated.
Slowly add flour and salt, mix until just combined.
Add fruit mixture, including any liquid that’s collected in the bottom of the bowl, and the walnuts; mix until incorporated.
Divide dough in half, place each half on a piece of wax paper or parchment. 
Form each into a log and refrigerate until firm, at least 3 hours.
When ready to bake, preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Line baking sheets with parchment paper.
Slice logs into 1/2″ slices and place on parchment paper.
Bake at 350 degrees for 15-20 minutes – I baked my cookies for 16 minutes.

Linked to
Cookbook Sundays
Saturday’s Party
Potluck Sunday

11 thoughts on “Fruitcake Cookies

  1. I have honestly never eaten fruitcake. . . .in any form. Is that odd? 🙂

    Thanks so much for linking them up Saturday's Party.

    -Krystal @ recipesofacheapskate.blogspot.com

  2. I'm definitely bookmarking this one! I don't like desserts that are too boozy either, and I love the flavors you've added. I'll make this for Christmas!

  3. Oh, wow, Louanne – I thought the cranberry & almond cookies I made and posted yesterday were pretty good, and they did definitely remind me of Christmas cake, but these fruit cake cookies look over the top delicious – I know that I am going to love them!! I love fruit cake, but I usually don't make it any more – one, because my partner doesn't eat it which means I usually end up eating the whole thing, and two, because in later years my Dad usually makes one for me each year. But I am definitely going to make these.

    Sue 🙂

  4. So many cookies…so little time! I only bake cookies during the holidays, so looking for lots of good ideas…and you've provided them! BTW…might be time for you to come up with a pomegranate recipe ;)! Come by my blog for a good bit of news, winner!!

  5. Louanne my friend, is there really such a thing as “too boozy”, lol! I know what you mean though, I made a fruitcake once that had so much rum in it, you could actually smell the rum on your breath and I had brought it into work to share with my co-workers. It was pretty funny. We all reeked. I happen to love fruitcake so would love these cookies. They not only look delicious but so Christmasy! Thank you so much for sharing with Cookbook Sundays and I hope you're having a great day!

Leave a Reply

