Save Room for Dessert…Easy Cranberry & Apple Cake

My friend Melinda knows my love of all things cranberry, so when she saw this recipe in Ina Garten’s How Easy is That? cookbook, she called my attention to it immediately. I was smitten and couldn’t wait to make it. Since my mother & sister were coming over to bake cuccidati on Sunday, I decided to bake it for them. Both live an hour away, so they rarely get to sample all of the goodies I bake.

The recipe says to bake it in a pie pan, but I just used a 13×9, and it worked great. I loved this cake! Tart cranberries with the delicious essence of range and cinnamon along with buttery cake, it’s just a perfectly deliciously cake! Now’s the time to make this, as cranberries are in abundance and so good for you, too!

Easy Cranberry & Apple Cake
1 12-oz bag cranberries, picked over and rinsed
1 Granny Smith apple, peeled & diced
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon orange zest
1/4 cup orange juice
1 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon, divided
3 large eggs (The recipe called for 2 extra-large, but I only had large, so I used 3)
1 cup +1 tablespoon sugar
1 stick unsalted butter, melted & cooled
1 teaspoon vanilla
1/4 cup sour cream (I used Greek yogurt)
1 cup flour
1/4 teaspoon kosher salt

Preheat the oven to 325 degrees.
Place cranberries, apple, brown sugar, orange zest, orange juice, and cinnamon in a 13×9 casserole dish or a 10″ pie plate. Mix together and set aside.
Using a mixer, beat eggs for 2 minutes.
Add 1 cup sugar, mleted butter, vanilla, and sour cream. Beat until combined
Add flour and salt.
Pour batter over fruit, covering fruit entirely.
Mix the remaining 1 tablespoon sugar and 1/8 teaspoon cinnamon together; sprinkle cinnamon sugar over batter.
Bake at 325 degrees for 50 minutes or until a toothpick inserted comes out clean.
Serve warm or at room temp.

Recipe adapated from Barefoot Contessa How Easy is That? by Ina Garten

Linked to Cookbook Sundays at Brenda’s Canadian Kitchen, Save Room for Dessert at Our Krazzy Kitchen, and Meet Me Monday Blog Hop.

12 thoughts on “Save Room for Dessert…Easy Cranberry & Apple Cake

  1. So glad I found this recipe online again! I had printed it out from your old domain, which isn’t up anymore. I wanted to share the link with someone else. This makes an awesome cranberry cake. We love it with fresh whipped cream! Yum!

  2. Louanne, this cake just looks positively gorgeous – I know that I would love this. Of course, cranberries are not in season here right now, so I'm bookmarking this for next year. In the meantime, do you think you could use frozen cranberries (I'm pretty sure I can get those right now)? Also sounds like maybe How Easy is That is a book I need to get.
    Sue 🙂

  3. Hi Louanne,

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! And now I am a follower of you – your recipes look wonderful and this one is BRILLIANT! I'm putting together recipe ideas I want to try over the holidays and this one definitely makes my list!

  4. Oh Louanne what gorgeous pics and what a delicious-looking cake. The perfect cake for this time of year. How Easy Is That is another book on my wish list. Thank you so much for sharing this yummy dessert with Cookbook Sundays. Have a great week!

  5. What a pretty cake, love Ina's recipes! It must have been wonderful getting to visit with your mom and sister…and I'm sure they loved the cake! 🙂

  6. That sounds like a cookbook I should buy! This is a wonderful recipe. I love cranberries,too. This would make a perfect dessert for our Thanksgiving!

  7. Now that is a dessert that truly celebrates the flavors of fall. Plus your description of it is making me crave some. I guess I better be sure to pick up extra cranberries so I can make this cake.

Leave a Reply

