Curried Coconut Cauliflower Soup

Yesterday, I bought a head of cauliflower with plans to make faux mashed potatoes to eat alongside pot roast.  I’ve made them many times before, and I really think they’re quite delicious.  So this morning, in the wee hours, I cut the head of cauliflower into florets, went into the pantry to find one of the best inventions known to man, and in my peripheral vision, I saw a can of coconut milk.  In that moment, my plan for faux taters was immediately nixed in favor of cauliflower soup, more specifically, curried coconut cauliflower soup.  Sadly, I used the last 2 teaspoons of my Maharajah curry powder from Spices Inc, so I need to remember to place an order TODAY or I shall be in a real fix.  We eat curried something or other at least once weekly.  Personally, I could eat it curry every single day, and my husband would be ok with it, but I would never see my child’s face, as he walks around the house with his shirt pulled over his nose like a bandit whenever I make curry.  Nope, I’m not kidding.  He really does.  Oh, he also complains incessantly about the smell, although what he’s saying is not that clear as his voice is muffled from the shirt.  Back to the soup…
I love this soup!  It’s creamy with a bit of a kick, and it just feels so warm and comforting.  I didn’t even eat any pot roast – just my lovely bowl of soup.

Curried Coconut Cauliflower Soup Printable recipe

1 head cauliflower, cut into florets
2 onions, diced
2 tablespoons garlic, minced
1 jalapeno pepper, seeded & minced
2 teaspoons curry powder
3 cups vegetable or chicken broth
1 can coconut milk
3 basil leaves
2 tablespoons oil
Basil or green onion tops for garnish, optional
Heat oil in a saucepan, add onions, garlic, and jalapeno pepper.
Cook until golden brown and add curry powder; continue to cook for 5 minutes.
Add cauliflower and stir to coat; add broth and bring to a boil, lower to a simmer and cook, with the lid ajar until cauliflower is tender and much of the liquid has evaporated.
Add coconut milk and basil leaves; return to a boil.  
Lower to a simmer and cook for 10 minutes; using an immersion blender, puree soup until desired consistency is reached.
Serve with a sprinkle of green onions or chopped basil leaves, if desired.

Linked to the following:
Tuesday Night Supper Club
Tuesdays at the Table
Tempt My Tummy Tuesday
Tasty Tuesdays
Hearth ‘n Soul
What’s Cooking Wednesday

21 thoughts on “Curried Coconut Cauliflower Soup

  1. What a delicious looking soup. Curry, cauliflower and coconut have got to be one of my favourite flavour combinations. Found you at Crunchiness and Frugality with Christy. I have a Vegetarian Foodie Friday carnival if you ever have anything like this that you would like to link up. Cheers!

  2. i made faux potatoes with cauliflower once..for a dinner party…and my husband was happily eating away–until i mentioned to one of our guests how guilt free it was because it was cauliflower. wouldn't you know..hubster stopped eating it immediately! he is such a hoot sometimes. this soup sounds absolutely divine! i am a huge fan of curry and would eat it every day too…if i thought i could get away with it. thank you for linking it up to tuesday night supper club

  3. Curry can be a hard sell around my house too – I love it but I have to use a light hand when I am feeding my kids. I love that you were inspired with this soup – yum! Thanks for sharing this with the hearth and soul hop!

  4. Love cauliflower(bought a head today at the market), curry and coconut milk. I was going to make cauliflower cheese soup but you changed my mind. Thanks for the recipe.

  5. This looks delicious! I'm definitely going to make it at some point!
    I hope you have a chance to check out my blog – I have a lot of recipes too! Following you on GFC now.

  6. Curry is definitely an acquired taste. I love it now, but if you'd asked me when I was young…who knows what I would have said! This soup looks absolutely fantastic. Don't you just love it when inspiration hits you like a ton of bricks?

  7. Yum, coconut and curry, just like my favorite Thai food. What a delicious way to use cauliflower. Thanks for entering my giveaway.

  8. I wish I had a bowl of this soup right now! Goodness, that sounds wonderful. I think I have everything on hand to make it tomorrow, so now I wish it was tomorrow! 🙂

  9. I know what you mean with kids.Mine is the same. Everytime I make something that is out of the ordinary, he makes funny discasting faces to me and refuses to eat. Thank God I have my mother close and she cooks something for him whenever I want to make something funcy for us. Your soup looks hearty and creamy.

Leave a Reply

