Nutty Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Cranberries

Cranberries are widely available in the market now, but I’ve had to restrain myself from my usual hoarding.  Why?  Well, I need the space in my freezer to accommodate 12 buckets of pre-made cookie dough that will surely arrive just as soon as there is no room in the freezer.  You see, Andrew’s school had a fundraiser last month by selling pre-made, pre-shaped frozen Otis Spunkmeyer cookies.  We sold 12 3-lb tubs of cookies, which will arrive at some point, although I’m not sure when, so my freezer space is currently reserved.  All I hope is that the 20 lbs of pecans I ordered doesn’t arrive at the same time.

So, the cake.  The cake is wonderful without cranberries or pecans, but it is sublime with both.  The ruby colored cranberries are so pretty, and I love the texture of the pecans.  Walnuts are an excellent substitute for pecans, so fret not if you’ve no pecans.  I love the moistness of this cake, as well, it’s perfect with a cup of tea or coffee, and it’s equally at home on a dessert or brunch table.  I glazed today’s cake with a vanilla glaze, but it’s over-the-top delicious with a cream cheese icing, so feel free to sub your favorite cream cheese glaze.  I’ve also made little loaf versions of this using these little pans and given them as little presents.  Hope you enjoy!


Nutty Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Cranberries Printable recipe
2 cups flour
2 teaspoons baking soda
2 teaspoons cinnamon
1/2 teaspoon salt
4 eggs
1 1/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
1 cup oil
1-15 oz can pumpkin puree
1 1/2 cups toasted and coarsely chopped pecans
1 1/2 cups cranberries, coarsely chopped

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
Butter and flour a Bundt pan; set aside.
In a small bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt; set aside.
Beat eggs and sugar together for 3 minutes; mix in oil, then pumpkin puree.
Stir in pecans and cranberries.
Add flour mixture.
Pour batter into prepared Bundt pan.
Bake for 55 minutes at 350 degrees.
Allow to cool in pan for 10 minutes, then invert, allowing to cool completely before glazing.

Vanilla Glaze
1 tablespoon unsalted butter
4 tablespoons whole milk
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/8 teaspoon salt

Microwave butter and 4 tablespoons milk until butter melts. Stir in vanilla and salt. Add powdered sugar and stir until smooth. If glaze is too thick, add additional milk until desired consistency is reached.

11 thoughts on “Nutty Pumpkin Bundt Cake with Cranberries

  1. This cake is so pretty Louanne – it looks perfect for Christmas!! I'd definitely be adding both the cranberries and pecans and cream cheese frosting. It looks so moist and yummy!

  2. That looks SO good…ILs are bringing pumpkin pie + cheesecake for Thanksgiving, but I want to make something for the dessert table too. This would be a bit different…and really good!

  3. Till the end of 12 Weeks of Christmas Cookies none of us will have room enough in our freezers!
    Love your cake! I think that cranberries really make the difference!

  4. haha I love that you're as much of a bulk buyer as I am when it comes to these kinds of things. This cake looks fantastic! All of my favorite fall ingredients in one place.

Leave a Reply

